Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
APRIL 2010 UPDATE From: Buddy Sizemore Over the years I've experimented with my original Oyster Stew recipe, so I wanted to share the following information with you folks. A nice addition to my recipe would be to finely minced one large potato (I like Yukon Gold best), then sauté the potato with the minced celery and shallots. Also, after considering some of the comments that a couple of viewers mentioned concerning the "floating" celery and shallots that their husbands didn't particularly care for, I experimented using a microplane to finely grate both the shallots and celery then add them in with the butter and finely minced potato. Before I microplaned the celery I cut the stringy layer off the celery stalks. This is easy to do with a potato peeler This is only a suggestion for thoes who may not like the larger peices of celery and shallots but still want the flavors. I however enjoy the texture. Another tip would be to allow the half & half or whipping cream (which ever you use) to come to room temperature. Also drain the liquid from the oysters then add it to the half & half at the beginning of cooking . This will cut down the time it takes to bring the mixture to a rolling simmer/boil. This is my family's favorite indlugence. I ALWAYS USE FRESH OYSTERS! Thank's to all who have posted reviews, I'm thrilled that the majority enjoy my recipe! And, with respect to the FEW negative reviews...well that just leaves more stew for the of us! Buddy Sizemore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUDDYMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made this for my dad. He has eaten a lot of oyster stew in his 77 years and he says this is the BEST oyster stew he has ever eaten. It's amazing how something so simple can be so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This turned out so well. Since I'm in MN I used canned oysters. I grew up on them in my oyster stew, so I figured it would be fine. The taste is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genell in MN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
very easy and hearty dish with enough delicious butter to satisfy people who would not normally go anywhere near an oyster in it's unsubmerged format! Buy oysters in the shell even if you never opened one, as you can pop them in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes to loosen them up, and then use a paring knife to cut the meat from the shell. This is oyster season (R months) and 2 dozen oysters is enough for this recipe. Reserve all liquid exuding from the oysters and strain before adding to the stew. The microwave method seems like a hideous shortcut but opening them by hand at the last minute for dinnertime is a pain too! Good cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was very easy and foolproof. The taste was surprisingly delicious even though there were so few ingredients. We added a few oyster crackers before serving and it was exceptional. I highly recommend this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
OK, here in rural NC, shallots and fresh oysters are hard to come by. Funny, I thought a container WAS fresh... vs. fried and frozen. Anyway, this was INCREDIBLY EASY... HOWEVER you MUST keep stirring. I got distracted and it boiled and curdled a bit. But still yum. Next time I'll search harder for shallots and add more pepper. Dice the celery finer too. A potoato would be a good touch... make it go further. Will revisit for the holidays. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Quite honestly I was looking for a recipe that stacked up against my mother's in my memory. This one did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good. Used 2 cups half n half, 2 cups whole milk. Also used a red onion instead of shallots. Although the container of oysters was only 8 oz, it was still very tasty. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe is fantastic and so easy to make. For some reason, it's hard to find the fresh containers of oysters here on the Florida east coast, so I've even used canned at times. It's good either way. I used a pint of fat-free 1/2&1/2 and a pint of fully-fat 1/2&1/2 the last time I made it and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This was VERY good and easy. My husband didn't like as much because he wasn't crazy about the "floating" celery and onions, lol. But it was very tasty and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States