Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe. Easy . . . the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe, depending on whether we are wanting a very elegant dish or something hearty and homey I make this two ways. Following the recipe exactly gives you a beautiful, delicious and elegant soup. Or, if I want something with more substance as a main the I chop the celery more coursely, add half a chopped onion and a chopped potato. I garnish with chives. Either way, a really, really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very Elegant, Simple and Easy to prepare. Delicious in the end. The only moderation I made was to heat the Oysters in their liquid, first.....then SLOWLY add them to the rest of the mix before you heat it ALL up together. This dish is a Christmas Eve tradition in the South for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I am an Oyster Stew Connoisseur and can say without doubt that this the way to do Oyster Stew. When it comes to this type of stew, the simpler the better is key. I don't usually make mine with celery, but I do love the slight added crunch it offers, so now it's a staple. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Fantastic! I used Oysters caught the same morning and we had dinner in no time flat. Absolutely fabulous on a cold day. NOT for the dieters that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.T.Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Fantastic! And super easy! Tasted like I worked on it for days! I did add a diced up potato. Man I can't tell you how great this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I am not a big fan of Oyster Stew but my husband loved it! I made a few changes. I browned some bacon, then added the veggies with the butter including potatos. I used tabasco instead of cayenne. Fresh oysters are a must! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I grew up eating my grandparents Oyster Stew and loved it and have made it before but wanted to find a recipe with more substance, so tried this. WORD TO THE WISE, do not use FAT FREE 1/2 and 1/2 I got it by accident and it had a weird sweet taste that almost ruined the stew, I had to over salt & pepper it to cover that weird sweet taste. I too grated the celery, onion, and potatoe and the results were great, my husband who hates celery didn't even notice it!! Great recipe just get the correct ingredients ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
YUM and very easy! Served with good french bread and a big salad. My husband would eat this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have never been a big oyster stew fan but my husband is.So i made this for him and it was absolutely awesome.I ate almost as much he did.Will definitely make again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States