Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is great, but I try to lower calories and fat when possible. I used 1/4c (real) c. butter and 1 c. half and half with 2 c. fat free milk. (this makes a thinner soup, so I thickened it using 1 - 2 tsp flour. (or 1 c. left over mashed potatoes) - this works great) Other additives I use, occasionally include; (1) 1 clove of garlic, minced, and cooked with celery and shallots. If shallots not available, use 1 small finely chopped white onion. (2) 1 tsp chopped chives (3) Sprinkle top with mixture 1/2:1/2 paprika anc chili powder. (4) Serve in a bread bowl .>>toast the bread you have removed from the bread bowl to make dipping crutons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Mission, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Too thin needed to add thickening. Not too much flavor for me plus too much celery. It needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My fiance loves oyster stew so I surprised him with this when he came home from a business trip. He absolutely loved it and tried to make a deal so I would make it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Love it! I added a few dashes of Old Bay Spice. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I did: 1 Cup Cream 3 Cup Milk 4 Tablespoons Butter 2 8oz can of Oyster, only drain 1 can Dash of Parsley 1 Tablespoon flour Directions: Put in 2 TBS butter let melt and add 1 TBS flour and stir till smooth. Add 3 cups milk & 1 cup cream, add salt, parsley, and pepper. Let is come to a boil and add 2 cans oyster, 2 TBS butter, and let it come back to a boil or till it foams up. Then let it sit for 10 min to cool and serve. By far the best I have ever had. Add some hot sauce to every spoon full and my son and I were in Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Delicious stew, so many good flavors! Oysters were fresh from the Apalachicola Bay in Florida Was a little chunky from the cream... would definitely make this again and again Served with warm loaf of bread and an ice cold beer! MMMMM mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I am personally not a fan of shellfish, and I have never eaten oyster stew. My husband loves it, though. During this recent cold snap, my hubby remarked that it was a shame I didn't like oysters because he would surely enjoy a bowl of oyster stew right about then. So I did an online search of oyster stew recipes and settled on yours because it seemed relatively easy to make, and the vast majority of the reviews were favorable. I followed the recipe as best I could: I used finely chopped red onion with garlic powder sprinkled over it in place of the shallots, and canned oysters. Even so, once I was finished and had my hubby"taste test" it to fine-tune the seasoning, he was blown away. And after 2 bowls of the stew, he told me that it was the best oyster stew he'd ever had! I tried it and I'm still not a fan, but I will not mind making this for him at all.....THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy1208

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Being from Maryland, I consider myself to be an expert to some degree on seafood that is served locally in that area, and this is very good. This makes an excellent addition to meals you can have for lunch or dinner if you are on the "I Love My Dixon Diet" by Sharon Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe. I diced one russet potatoe, which I simmered in water for about 3 minutes before cooking it in the celery, shallot and butter mix. The other things I added were a few bay leaves, pinch of parsley, and a splash of fresh lemon juice. It was wonderful! I loved this recipe - thank you. When I cook this again, I think I will add maybe 1/4 cup of dry white wine, and some other seafood like scallops and lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Excellent. I did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States