Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Along with small slices of potato, I also added 2 fresh minced slices of bacon. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apalachicola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
OH MY this was great I was ask to make oyster stew for a friend. I had never made oyster stew I had eaten it with my dad years ago but never made it so I tried this recipe I didn't use regular celery I used celery salt and onion flakes I fried them in the butter .but did everything else as listed it was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! will use this again and again thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Good base recipe...I ended up having to add more than just salt, pepper, and cayenne to it...I put some lemon pepper seasoning and garlic powder which gave it a really good flavor..I'm not a huge oyster fan but this really good...We had fresh picked Hood Canal Oysters...Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'd make it a 5 but too much celery in this recipe, cut to 1/2 cup, add a small glove of fresh garlic. IT WAS GREAT!!! Fed 2 adults and one child. Nothing left, peferct~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very good recipe! Love it! I used canned oysters it was still awesome. If you're going to alter the recipe and make it YOUR way don't bother leaving a review because you are not reviewing the authors recipe you're reviewing YOUR VERSION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikethechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have been making this for a while and I love it and so does everyone who has eaten it. A friend who grew up on Hooper Island, Eastern shore of Md. say it is the best. Can't get a better complament than that. I do add carrot chopped really fine and I use canned milk since that was what I had. I use it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Not a lot of flavor. i added diced potatoes as well and thought the half and half was a little too rich tasting to me so next time i will use milk like before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky69boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My kids wouldn't eat it. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was super, I loved the addition of the potato. Thanks so much for sharing. mjperlin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States