Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We had this tonight for our Christmas Eve dinner. It will be a yearly tradition for sure! I used my mini food processor to mince the celery and shallots down further after I had cooked them. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I halved it (and backed off the butter just a little bit) and made it with freshly shucked Maryland Oysters. It is dead simple to make and the best Oyster stew I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I just got some some fresh oysters from the Chesapeake Bay, and I fried some of them last night, but needed this recipe to use the rest of them. Great tasting soup (stew). I don't know what any other oyster would taste like in this recipe, but I got the best oysters I ever had, NO RIVER oysters, straight the bay.Thnaks so posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used 32 oz of oysters instead of 24. Other then that, I left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Easy to make and delicious. I made it for my father-in-law. The ONLY change I would make is to not MINCE the celery. A fine chop would be better in my opinion. Served with oyster crackers and sauteed chard on the side. We drank Pinot grigio. I had a leftover bowl for breakfast. i used fresh Hood Canal little oysters and the flavor was amazing. And I don't like oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I never made oyster stew, but was very good and family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is a delicious stew, however the fat content is so high. I substituted a low fat evaporated milk instead of cream and used 1/4 cup butter instead and it still held its rich and creamy taste. I really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Wonderful! And so simple to make. Followed the recipe except I added bacon, small cubed potatoes and sautéed them with the shallots and celery! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Being a Marylander, I tend to prefer the traditional Oyster Stew that I grew up on, with some oyster crackers on top. Yours was tasty, however, to me it's more like a clam chowder with an oyster substitute. Oyster Chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I added a couple of cloves of garlic, then finished with a splash of dry sherry. Perfectamundo! Well-received by even self-proclaimed "haters" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States