Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I have never had any oyster stews or soups so I wasn't sure what to expect, but this was quite nice. The broth was very smooth and lightly creamy. We picked the oysters in the morning so they were nice and fresh. I think next time we will either use smaller oysters, or cut them into small pieces. It was odd to have this broth with only some big huge oysters every now and then in it, so smaller, more frequent spoonfulls of them will be nicer. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
excellent, easy to prepare and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
very easy and hearty dish with enough delicious butter to satisfy people who would not normally go anywhere near an oyster in it's unsubmerged format! Buy oysters in the shell even if you never opened one, as you can pop them in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes to loosen them up, and then use a paring knife to cut the meat from the shell. This is oyster season (R months) and 2 dozen oysters is enough for this recipe. Reserve all liquid exuding from the oysters and strain before adding to the stew. The microwave method seems like a hideous shortcut but opening them by hand at the last minute for dinnertime is a pain too! Good cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Made this x-mas eve, may make it AGAIN new years eve. delish, simple, elegant. thank you so much. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I have to agree with all of the other reviewers and give this recipe 5 stars. It is awesome and very quick and easy to make. Thanks Buddy for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
The soup was good by itself. The oysters just complimented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I made this stew for my brother who had been recovering from By-Pass surgery and requested it. I found this stew very easy to make I used fresh oysters and he was absolutely delighted. I never tasted oyster stew before and I was very pleased with the taste. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Can't say enough about this ~I should have doubled the recipe for XMas Eve it went so fast. Everybody raved -including some of the picky teens. I didn't think this recipe would be much better than the old oyster/milk/salt/pepper standby that I usually use -bit it was!! Thanks so much for sharing this -it's the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This recipe is excellent. Made this fora Chstmas part and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was very easy and foolproof. The taste was surprisingly delicious even though there were so few ingredients. We added a few oyster crackers before serving and it was exceptional. I highly recommend this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States