Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe is a big hit with my family during the Christmas holidays. The recipe is simple, but the taste is big. Use fresh oysters, not canned. Don't skimp on the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Sorry. Guess Im the odd man out. It was ok. I may or may not make this one again. I thought it was bland and had way too much liquid in the end. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was great! So quick and easy to make. I used fat free half and half, and I didn't have shallots so I used regular onion minced real fine. Perfect. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
the VERY BEST oyster stew...i have made it several times for guests and it was a big hit. thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
APRIL 2010 UPDATE From: Buddy Sizemore Over the years I've experimented with my original Oyster Stew recipe, so I wanted to share the following information with you folks. A nice addition to my recipe would be to finely minced one large potato (I like Yukon Gold best), then sauté the potato with the minced celery and shallots. Also, after considering some of the comments that a couple of viewers mentioned concerning the "floating" celery and shallots that their husbands didn't particularly care for, I experimented using a microplane to finely grate both the shallots and celery then add them in with the butter and finely minced potato. Before I microplaned the celery I cut the stringy layer off the celery stalks. This is easy to do with a potato peeler This is only a suggestion for thoes who may not like the larger peices of celery and shallots but still want the flavors. I however enjoy the texture. Another tip would be to allow the half & half or whipping cream (which ever you use) to come to room temperature. Also drain the liquid from the oysters then add it to the half & half at the beginning of cooking . This will cut down the time it takes to bring the mixture to a rolling simmer/boil. This is my family's favorite indlugence. I ALWAYS USE FRESH OYSTERS! Thank's to all who have posted reviews, I'm thrilled that the majority enjoy my recipe! And, with respect to the FEW negative reviews...well that just leaves more stew for the of us! Buddy Sizemore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUDDYMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Excellent stew, creamy and delicious, if you like Clam Chowder, you'll also like this. I used 50/50 milk and half and half mix. Good thing, it's plenty rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Im sure this was excellant just exactly the way it was written but I come home hungry had 2 cans of store bought oyster no half and half no shallots. So I sauteed onions and celery in butter. Boiled me a few diced potatoes in water. Did the rest cayenne pepper and hot sauce. Used milk. A few drops of Worchestire and it was the Bomb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
very tasty and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
So EASY to make, and it's fantastic with fresh oysters instead of canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Vermont, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I have never had any oyster stews or soups so I wasn't sure what to expect, but this was quite nice. The broth was very smooth and lightly creamy. We picked the oysters in the morning so they were nice and fresh. I think next time we will either use smaller oysters, or cut them into small pieces. It was odd to have this broth with only some big huge oysters every now and then in it, so smaller, more frequent spoonfulls of them will be nicer. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States