Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe is fantastic and so easy to make. For some reason, it's hard to find the fresh containers of oysters here on the Florida east coast, so I've even used canned at times. It's good either way. I used a pint of fat-free 1/2&1/2 and a pint of fully-fat 1/2&1/2 the last time I made it and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made this for my dad. He has eaten a lot of oyster stew in his 77 years and he says this is the BEST oyster stew he has ever eaten. It's amazing how something so simple can be so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
OK, here in rural NC, shallots and fresh oysters are hard to come by. Funny, I thought a container WAS fresh... vs. fried and frozen. Anyway, this was INCREDIBLY EASY... HOWEVER you MUST keep stirring. I got distracted and it boiled and curdled a bit. But still yum. Next time I'll search harder for shallots and add more pepper. Dice the celery finer too. A potoato would be a good touch... make it go further. Will revisit for the holidays. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This was VERY good and easy. My husband didn't like as much because he wasn't crazy about the "floating" celery and onions, lol. But it was very tasty and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I had less than a pint of half-and-half and the same amount of heavy cream, so I combined them and added 1% milk to make a quart. I also added canned (hard to get fresh here!) oysters, clams and baby shrimp and the additional liquid didn't seem to affect the thickness. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Absolutely WONDERFUL. Never thought of adding shallots. Really makes the recipe! Thank you for sharing. This is a KEEPER! Lynne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This recipe was pretty bland. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Just like Mom made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Everyone liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Other than paying for the fresh oysters ($7.99 per pound), this recipe is pure pleasure. I wouldn't change a thing (other than the price of the oysters). It was fabulous. A splendid start to New Years Eve, 2004!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States