Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
So good. I added a minced potato which really helped to make this even more hearty. The only change I will make next time is to start the celery earlier, and dice the potato instead of mincing it (slightly bigger chunks I think would compliment the oysters better). I used medium oysters and cut them in thirds to make them more spoon friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
As of today, this oyster stew has replaced our traditional oyster stew. It was so good! Thank you for the recipe. I minced the shallots and celery, didn't add salt, pepper, or cayenne. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This turned out so well. Since I'm in MN I used canned oysters. I grew up on them in my oyster stew, so I figured it would be fine. The taste is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genell in MN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good. Used 2 cups half n half, 2 cups whole milk. Also used a red onion instead of shallots. Although the container of oysters was only 8 oz, it was still very tasty. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was pretty good but just was not crazy about the celery and onion in the stew, think next time will use celery seed because I like the taste and a little garlic instead of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Simple and excellent recipe! Sometimes, the simpler, the better! This is the case here. I made it for the first time on Xmas eve. Everyone raved about it, including myself. I will continue to make this recipe for any seafood event. It’s better than any oyster stew I’ve had in any restaurant. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Absolutely delicious! This is the fifth time I've prepared this recipe this winter and I look forward to preparing it each time. As other users have noticed, using half-and-half is not a strict requirement. I have usually prepared this stew with 1.5 pints of heavy cream instead. This makes for a very rich, creamy stew that couples amazingly well with fresh crusty bread. I have also added the minced celery earlier than the shallots, since it takes more time to cook (al dente 15 minutes for shallots, 30 minutes for celery; tender add fifteen minutes). Also, I see little need for flour or other thickener. Perfect as is ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
My 91 year old father in law was craving oyster stew "from the old days." He absolutely loved this recipe. And it's SO easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
we make it every Christmas Eve but this yr. we used this recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe is fantastic and so easy to make. For some reason, it's hard to find the fresh containers of oysters here on the Florida east coast, so I've even used canned at times. It's good either way. I used a pint of fat-free 1/2&1/2 and a pint of fully-fat 1/2&1/2 the last time I made it and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States