Oyster Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The souffle never rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very easy and tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
We have done this on Thanksgiving for as long as I can remember. However, we do it a little different first off, we call it Oyster Casserole. We use a jar of fresh oysters (instead of canned), which I cut up, if the oysters are big, to make them cover more area of the crackers, reserve half of the oyster liquid (so then cut down the 1/2 and 1/2) and mix it with about a 1/4 to a 1/2 cup diced celery and salt and pepper. We also use saltines instead of Ritz type crackers. It is FABULOUS if you are an oyster lover like we are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERSUE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a must-have at the holidays for my family. My mother always made it - so it's a tradition. I would suggest raising the temp to 350 for 45 min., so you can cook it along with other dishes. I would definitely recommend lightly sprinkling some 'Accent' on each layer of oysters (it especially brings out the flavor of oysters). I've always made it with milk, and be sure to let it set for an hour to absorb the liquid. It doesn't fluff up during baking if you skip this step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toddville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
You gotta love those oysters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe did not work out at all! I used two 8 oz containers of oysters, 35 crackers & 2 cups half & half. I let it sit for an hour b4 baking it but it was really runny. After baking it was just slop! Doesn't souffle need eggs & egg whites to help it set up? I would guess about 3 eggs seperated & beaten. Maybe I should have used just one cup of H&H? Maybe add a pinch of nutmeg for subtle flavor, too. OK- revision to previous tirade - After this souffle sat for about half an hour to 45 minutes it did set up into a souffle like consistency, but it was cold. I still think it was bland & tasted more like crackers than oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Even though I had some doubts about this recipe I finally decided to make it for a prime rib dinner I was making. What a nice surprise, this dish is fabulous. Now I make it any time I get the chance. Thanks so much for sharing Audrey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Summit, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States