Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This is a great recipe..I made it with skinless thighs, and poured off all of the rendered fat from the first 25 minutes of cooking before adding the oyster sauce mixture. Also, after the chicken is done you can add the sauce from the pan to a bowl which has a little cornstarch & water whisked together in it...whisk the constarch mixture with the sauce to create a thicker "gravy" to spoon over the chicken..Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Way way way too sweet. Made a second batch of the sauce using only 1 tablespoon of sugar and it was greatly improved. Then added 3 tablespoons of Asian chili garlic sauce and cooked according to recipe. Absolutely great that way. Original recipe yielded a syrupy goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I was looking for an easy dinner tonight and was excited to find this recipe. I didn't expect it to taste so good! I added 2 inches of ginger, peeled and chopped and 1 teaspoon chili with garlic sauce to suit my taste. Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for sharing Myrna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love oyster sauce on chicken, so I was looking around to see if anyone posted a recipe like this and if not, I was going to submit it. Well I guess I'm too late!! This is the exact recipe I use for my oyster sauce chicken and it is phenomenal! I have a couple additions though, first I add some Sambal (hot sauce)to the mixture and I marinate the chicken for 30 minutes before roasting. I use it on chicken wings instead of doing the same old buffalo wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
I live in Australia and I have cooked this recipe twice now with an excellent result. My wife and son aged 22 enjoyed it the first and asked me to cook it for them again.Each serving was on a bed of boiled rice with a serving of stir fried seasonal vegies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This chicken was tender and tangy and really good I put the liquid from the bottom of the pan in a ramekin and dipped the meat in it. I love food with alot of flavor and this has it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
If I recall, I think this made a lot of extra sauce, which I kept in a sealed Tupperware for making another batch. Later that week, I marinated 10 more thighs in a Ziploc bag with that extra sauce, for 2 days, and took it camping with us. Tastes even better on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
It hit me while I was making it that I was adding an awful lot of sugar to dinner. DH and I thought this was OK, but the kids didn't like it at all. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
i LOVE this recipe, so easy, and i save the sauce to make another batch. it just gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
My husband love this. I found the sauce to be too watery. Next time, I think I'll reduce the amount of water. I also added a lot of Tabasco to give it more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States