Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I've had lobster sauce with shrimp but this was a first for chicken I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I really did like the way this tasted & it was very easy. I used brown sugar, added 1 tbsp chopped ginger, & marinated for about 2 hours. The yummy sweet bite of ginger was my favorite part, I would not leave it out! All that being said...I don't think I would make this for guests because I found the smell to be borderline offensive (sorry!) I love seafood & I'm VERY adventurous with food, but I had to dare myself to take that first bite. It's a musty old fish smell (duh, oyster sauce, I know) but I've learned never to roast oysters in the oven, grill 'em instead. I'll probably try this recipe again but it's going on the grill, and outa my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great flavor and something different. I've made it as is and the kids loved it. You can mix it up with your standard asian additions. A little soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame seed oil, hoison(spl?) and sambal although i've subbed chipotle with success also ginger and diced green onion are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very easy to make. The only thing I'd do next time is reduce the amount of sugar. It is too sweet for us. Recommend to cook it with skin on, it is the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cannot get enough of this recipe. Most of my family and friends don't know what oyster sauce is and they always seemed to be turned off by the name "oyster sauce". However, it is extremely good. I usually cook this on a breast of chicken (bone-in) and it turns out great. I tend to make too much sauce and it sticks to the pan so be careful. I open occasionally to "baste". Sometimes I use honey instead of sugar, either way is good. Delicious! I've made several times already and making again tonight. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is so quick. I would like to use this recipe again just for speed. Unfortunately, I think that I could get the same taste with a bottled marinade. My son did not care for it. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
oh man!! that was one of the best chicken meals i've had! I added 4 thai chili peppers though to the sauce for a little kick because i love spicy foods! this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
THIS WAS EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR! I did add a little bit of onion powder to mine. I also used 5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts chopped up into cubes instead of wings and it still came out nicely. I prepared my dish as a meal so I cooked 4 cups of white rice and put it on the bottom of a 9x13" pan and then I put the finished Oyster Sauce Chicken on top and sprinkled on a little bit of sesame seed for look. It was delicious! I will absolutely make this dish again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Oh my gosh this was heavenly! I couldn't find Oyster Sauce, but found Oyster FLAVORED Sauce made by Sun Luck. I used the spicy kind. It smelled wierd in the bottle but wow, what a recipe it turned out to be! I only had 2 thighs and 3 drumsticks left in the freezer. Normally the two of us would eat all of this but we loved the sauce over rice so much we didn't eat much of the chicken. (Good, can't wait for leftovers!) The chicken was perfectly moist. I only used about 1/4 cup of sugar and minced 2 garlic cloves. Next time, I will do like another reviewer said and pour the fat off after the initial 25 minutes of baking because it made the sauce kind of greasy. I like others, also mixed the remaining sauce with starch water to thicken it up. After reading one reviewer served over stir-fried pineapple and bean sprouts I tried it. It made quite an addition to the meal, boyfriend loved it. Must try this recipe! I will use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Way way way too sweet. Made a second batch of the sauce using only 1 tablespoon of sugar and it was greatly improved. Then added 3 tablespoons of Asian chili garlic sauce and cooked according to recipe. Absolutely great that way. Original recipe yielded a syrupy goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States