Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I tried this recipe and it came out beautifully. I used chicken breasts and they came out deliciously tender and juicy. The source was a little sweet so I added about a table spoon of lemon juice to it before poring it over the chicken. Yum! I served it with Chinese style fried rice and my husband almost licked his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
DELICIOUS! Doubled the garlic but that was about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gfelicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
chicken was delicious. i have used oyster sauce before and didnt really notice the smell until i used it with this recipe. it stinks! so dont make this before company comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Interesting dish. I made exactly per the recipe and did not heed the warnings about it being too sweet. I tasted the sauce before I added it to the chicken and it did not taste too sweet to me. But when it was completely done, it was a little too sweet for my tastes. Will probably cut back on the sugar next time. Served over sushi rice which was nice and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I've had lobster sauce with shrimp but this was a first for chicken I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I really did like the way this tasted & it was very easy. I used brown sugar, added 1 tbsp chopped ginger, & marinated for about 2 hours. The yummy sweet bite of ginger was my favorite part, I would not leave it out! All that being said...I don't think I would make this for guests because I found the smell to be borderline offensive (sorry!) I love seafood & I'm VERY adventurous with food, but I had to dare myself to take that first bite. It's a musty old fish smell (duh, oyster sauce, I know) but I've learned never to roast oysters in the oven, grill 'em instead. I'll probably try this recipe again but it's going on the grill, and outa my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great flavor and something different. I've made it as is and the kids loved it. You can mix it up with your standard asian additions. A little soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame seed oil, hoison(spl?) and sambal although i've subbed chipotle with success also ginger and diced green onion are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very easy to make. The only thing I'd do next time is reduce the amount of sugar. It is too sweet for us. Recommend to cook it with skin on, it is the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cannot get enough of this recipe. Most of my family and friends don't know what oyster sauce is and they always seemed to be turned off by the name "oyster sauce". However, it is extremely good. I usually cook this on a breast of chicken (bone-in) and it turns out great. I tend to make too much sauce and it sticks to the pan so be careful. I open occasionally to "baste". Sometimes I use honey instead of sugar, either way is good. Delicious! I've made several times already and making again tonight. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States