Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by VIta
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Used 2/3 of the recommended oyster sauce as i wanted to make this for the next day, and marinated for approx. 24 hours. Cooked it in the oven without any extra sauce, and the chicken came out wonderfully soft. We stir fried bean sprouts, asparagus and pineapple with salt and pepper and placed it on the plate. We heated 2 ladles of the leftover sauce and after putting the cooked chicken on the veggies, we poured it over on top of everything. The sauce is pretty watery as people were stating, so adding the starch water will probably do the trick. The sauce still tastes good with the rice as is but I will try the starch water with the left over sauce next week. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of the dish, I just could not fathom at all the taste from just reading the recipe. One thing was that when we were cooking the chicken, the sauce gave off a strange smell. I've never cooked with oyster sauce before, so I don't know if it's supposed to smell like that or it was the brand I used. We eat a lot of Chinese food, and we've never smelled that scent before. It wasn't a super strong scent, but I have a good nose so maybe my nose was working too well. Anyhow, I posted a photo of dish we made. Thanks, Wendy, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe, and the best part is, since we have very busy lives, it was great to just be able to put it in the oven and forget about it for a while. However, we did think that it could have done with a bit less sugar, so we'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love oyster sauce on chicken, so I was looking around to see if anyone posted a recipe like this and if not, I was going to submit it. Well I guess I'm too late!! This is the exact recipe I use for my oyster sauce chicken and it is phenomenal! I have a couple additions though, first I add some Sambal (hot sauce)to the mixture and I marinate the chicken for 30 minutes before roasting. I use it on chicken wings instead of doing the same old buffalo wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was delish!,my kids even enjoyed it (I removed from the bone before serving it to them). I also removed the skin and it remained moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was surprisingly wonderful! I was looking for an oriental sauce to use with my stir-fry. I had run out of soy sauce and was looking for a sauce that didn't use it. This was so good. My husband who doesn't usually like oriental food loved this sauce. Thanks for sharing and this is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. I used four boneless skinless chicken breasts that I cut in half to make them cook faster. I cooked them 15 minutes without the sauce and 15 minutes with. If I make this again, I'll just cook them with the sauce the whole 30 minutes. I halved the amount of sauce, and used Splenda in it instead of sugar. The sauce was good, but could have been a lot more richer in flavor with more ingredients. But not bad for a really quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
this was wonderful. My husband and daughter fought over it. It's a perfect blend of sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I thought this was very good. The sweetness of all the sugar and the oyster sauce was a nice combo. I had this with steamed white rice. I love how easy it was to make. Next time I'll chop up some Thai chili and add it to the mix. Also I brushed the sauce on 3x during the baking, every 5-10 minutes. Definitely adding this to my recipe box! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I was looking for an easy dinner tonight and was excited to find this recipe. I didn't expect it to taste so good! I added 2 inches of ginger, peeled and chopped and 1 teaspoon chili with garlic sauce to suit my taste. Can't wait to make this again. Thanks for sharing Myrna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Excellent! When I made the sauce I thought "This is going to be terrible". But when it came out of the oven it was oh-so-good! I added some sugar to mine and my bottle of oyster sauce was a 9 oz bottle. Husband loved it too - I froze the left over sauce and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States