Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
THIS WAS EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR! I did add a little bit of onion powder to mine. I also used 5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts chopped up into cubes instead of wings and it still came out nicely. I prepared my dish as a meal so I cooked 4 cups of white rice and put it on the bottom of a 9x13" pan and then I put the finished Oyster Sauce Chicken on top and sprinkled on a little bit of sesame seed for look. It was delicious! I will absolutely make this dish again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Oh my gosh this was heavenly! I couldn't find Oyster Sauce, but found Oyster FLAVORED Sauce made by Sun Luck. I used the spicy kind. It smelled wierd in the bottle but wow, what a recipe it turned out to be! I only had 2 thighs and 3 drumsticks left in the freezer. Normally the two of us would eat all of this but we loved the sauce over rice so much we didn't eat much of the chicken. (Good, can't wait for leftovers!) The chicken was perfectly moist. I only used about 1/4 cup of sugar and minced 2 garlic cloves. Next time, I will do like another reviewer said and pour the fat off after the initial 25 minutes of baking because it made the sauce kind of greasy. I like others, also mixed the remaining sauce with starch water to thicken it up. After reading one reviewer served over stir-fried pineapple and bean sprouts I tried it. It made quite an addition to the meal, boyfriend loved it. Must try this recipe! I will use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Way way way too sweet. Made a second batch of the sauce using only 1 tablespoon of sugar and it was greatly improved. Then added 3 tablespoons of Asian chili garlic sauce and cooked according to recipe. Absolutely great that way. Original recipe yielded a syrupy goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VIta
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Used 2/3 of the recommended oyster sauce as i wanted to make this for the next day, and marinated for approx. 24 hours. Cooked it in the oven without any extra sauce, and the chicken came out wonderfully soft. We stir fried bean sprouts, asparagus and pineapple with salt and pepper and placed it on the plate. We heated 2 ladles of the leftover sauce and after putting the cooked chicken on the veggies, we poured it over on top of everything. The sauce is pretty watery as people were stating, so adding the starch water will probably do the trick. The sauce still tastes good with the rice as is but I will try the starch water with the left over sauce next week. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of the dish, I just could not fathom at all the taste from just reading the recipe. One thing was that when we were cooking the chicken, the sauce gave off a strange smell. I've never cooked with oyster sauce before, so I don't know if it's supposed to smell like that or it was the brand I used. We eat a lot of Chinese food, and we've never smelled that scent before. It wasn't a super strong scent, but I have a good nose so maybe my nose was working too well. Anyhow, I posted a photo of dish we made. Thanks, Wendy, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe, and the best part is, since we have very busy lives, it was great to just be able to put it in the oven and forget about it for a while. However, we did think that it could have done with a bit less sugar, so we'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love oyster sauce on chicken, so I was looking around to see if anyone posted a recipe like this and if not, I was going to submit it. Well I guess I'm too late!! This is the exact recipe I use for my oyster sauce chicken and it is phenomenal! I have a couple additions though, first I add some Sambal (hot sauce)to the mixture and I marinate the chicken for 30 minutes before roasting. I use it on chicken wings instead of doing the same old buffalo wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was delish!,my kids even enjoyed it (I removed from the bone before serving it to them). I also removed the skin and it remained moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was surprisingly wonderful! I was looking for an oriental sauce to use with my stir-fry. I had run out of soy sauce and was looking for a sauce that didn't use it. This was so good. My husband who doesn't usually like oriental food loved this sauce. Thanks for sharing and this is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. I used four boneless skinless chicken breasts that I cut in half to make them cook faster. I cooked them 15 minutes without the sauce and 15 minutes with. If I make this again, I'll just cook them with the sauce the whole 30 minutes. I halved the amount of sauce, and used Splenda in it instead of sugar. The sauce was good, but could have been a lot more richer in flavor with more ingredients. But not bad for a really quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
this was wonderful. My husband and daughter fought over it. It's a perfect blend of sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States