Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
chicken was delicious. i have used oyster sauce before and didnt really notice the smell until i used it with this recipe. it stinks! so dont make this before company comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Interesting dish. I made exactly per the recipe and did not heed the warnings about it being too sweet. I tasted the sauce before I added it to the chicken and it did not taste too sweet to me. But when it was completely done, it was a little too sweet for my tastes. Will probably cut back on the sugar next time. Served over sushi rice which was nice and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I've had lobster sauce with shrimp but this was a first for chicken I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I really did like the way this tasted & it was very easy. I used brown sugar, added 1 tbsp chopped ginger, & marinated for about 2 hours. The yummy sweet bite of ginger was my favorite part, I would not leave it out! All that being said...I don't think I would make this for guests because I found the smell to be borderline offensive (sorry!) I love seafood & I'm VERY adventurous with food, but I had to dare myself to take that first bite. It's a musty old fish smell (duh, oyster sauce, I know) but I've learned never to roast oysters in the oven, grill 'em instead. I'll probably try this recipe again but it's going on the grill, and outa my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great flavor and something different. I've made it as is and the kids loved it. You can mix it up with your standard asian additions. A little soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame seed oil, hoison(spl?) and sambal although i've subbed chipotle with success also ginger and diced green onion are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very easy to make. The only thing I'd do next time is reduce the amount of sugar. It is too sweet for us. Recommend to cook it with skin on, it is the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cannot get enough of this recipe. Most of my family and friends don't know what oyster sauce is and they always seemed to be turned off by the name "oyster sauce". However, it is extremely good. I usually cook this on a breast of chicken (bone-in) and it turns out great. I tend to make too much sauce and it sticks to the pan so be careful. I open occasionally to "baste". Sometimes I use honey instead of sugar, either way is good. Delicious! I've made several times already and making again tonight. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is so quick. I would like to use this recipe again just for speed. Unfortunately, I think that I could get the same taste with a bottled marinade. My son did not care for it. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
oh man!! that was one of the best chicken meals i've had! I added 4 thai chili peppers though to the sauce for a little kick because i love spicy foods! this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
THIS WAS EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR! I did add a little bit of onion powder to mine. I also used 5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts chopped up into cubes instead of wings and it still came out nicely. I prepared my dish as a meal so I cooked 4 cups of white rice and put it on the bottom of a 9x13" pan and then I put the finished Oyster Sauce Chicken on top and sprinkled on a little bit of sesame seed for look. It was delicious! I will absolutely make this dish again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States