Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Easy to cook. At first I though I would have to pan-fry the chicken after baking so it turns out to be golden but I didn't find that necessary. After pouring in the sauce and baking it for the second time, the chicken parts that were not submerged turned out to be golden brown. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was very good, thank you. I don't think it's necessary to precook the chicken though as I found THAT to be the unpleasant smell...kind of like thawing ground beef in a microwave. Yuk! If you don't precook the chicken and you turn down your temperature there is no need to add water or thicken your sauce with cornstarch (which is not good for you) I skinned my thighs as we all know chicken skins are not good for you either...sorry for the 'health kick'. I only used 1 cup of Oyster sauce as it's expensive and just a bit of brown (instead of white) sugar 'winging it' as I usually do. The chicken was tender, the sauce perfect. Great for pouring over my Basmati Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good, but way too sweet. I reduced the sugar down to 1/2 cup but next time I will try 1/4 cup. Really easy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Made this tonight for dinner - it was an all-around winner at my house! Used brown instead of white sugar and threw in some minced ginger as someone else had suggested to counter the smell of the oyster sauce (which it did) - other than that, as instructed and it came out great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I do a lot of asian style dishes & this one was right on** In order to help with the smell, add a teaspoon of minced fresh ginger. Filippinos use ginger with chicken adobo mainly to help the smell and the ingredients in this dish are similiar to adobo. Also, add some thinly sliced onions & extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very flavorful and easy. I did make a few changes, only 1/4 c sugar and added about a 1/4 c of sweet chile asian sauce. Also added 1/4 c Crystal hot sauce, love the vinegar flavor. Had a pork tenderlion and marineted for two days and cooked on the outdoor grill, will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
quick, easy and super tasty - did do a bit less sugar as recipe seemed to call for so much but i ended up using several tablespoons to taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Wonderful and easy to make! I also saved the sauce to marinate the extra chicken thighs I had left over with. I'm thinking the grill would be perfect for next time around. Using the sauce for dipping was a great suggestion too! My kids liked the sauce poured over the rice! Yummmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I tried this recipe and it came out beautifully. I used chicken breasts and they came out deliciously tender and juicy. The source was a little sweet so I added about a table spoon of lemon juice to it before poring it over the chicken. Yum! I served it with Chinese style fried rice and my husband almost licked his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
DELICIOUS! Doubled the garlic but that was about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States