Oyster Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Used much less sugar, but overall it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
this wasn't outstanding in any way really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I made this 2 days ago and they are already asking when will I do it again. the only thing I changed was to cut the sugar to half of a cup. it was really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weemah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I tried it last night! Great! Everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by assharamphul@hotmail.com

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Easy to cook. At first I though I would have to pan-fry the chicken after baking so it turns out to be golden but I didn't find that necessary. After pouring in the sauce and baking it for the second time, the chicken parts that were not submerged turned out to be golden brown. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was very good, thank you. I don't think it's necessary to precook the chicken though as I found THAT to be the unpleasant smell...kind of like thawing ground beef in a microwave. Yuk! If you don't precook the chicken and you turn down your temperature there is no need to add water or thicken your sauce with cornstarch (which is not good for you) I skinned my thighs as we all know chicken skins are not good for you either...sorry for the 'health kick'. I only used 1 cup of Oyster sauce as it's expensive and just a bit of brown (instead of white) sugar 'winging it' as I usually do. The chicken was tender, the sauce perfect. Great for pouring over my Basmati Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good, but way too sweet. I reduced the sugar down to 1/2 cup but next time I will try 1/4 cup. Really easy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Made this tonight for dinner - it was an all-around winner at my house! Used brown instead of white sugar and threw in some minced ginger as someone else had suggested to counter the smell of the oyster sauce (which it did) - other than that, as instructed and it came out great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I do a lot of asian style dishes & this one was right on** In order to help with the smell, add a teaspoon of minced fresh ginger. Filippinos use ginger with chicken adobo mainly to help the smell and the ingredients in this dish are similiar to adobo. Also, add some thinly sliced onions & extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very flavorful and easy. I did make a few changes, only 1/4 c sugar and added about a 1/4 c of sweet chile asian sauce. Also added 1/4 c Crystal hot sauce, love the vinegar flavor. Had a pork tenderlion and marineted for two days and cooked on the outdoor grill, will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States