Oyster Dressing (Stuffing) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very good. I would recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very good! It was a hit at my Thanksgiving table. I used canned oysters. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
If I didn't make this stuffing at Thanksgiving, my family would Revolt! LOL. I have basically the same recipe submitted, congrats Stephanie for getting it published! It deserves 10 stars! I use Stove Top Stuffing and add fresh veggies plus a little poultry seasoning. Perfect!! Thank You Stephanie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this stuffing for Christmas dinner this past year and my family LOVED it. My uncle asked if he could take the left overs home and my aunt emailed me asking for the recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added a tube of sweet thyme sausage that I ground and browned first, then cooked the onions and celery in the sausage fat that I drained off of the meat. The sausage made it really robust - almost casserole-like. Warning: it will make your entire house smell like oysters when you make this, so be prepared with good ventilation and lots of candles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe, but for 8 cups of bread crumbs (I used herb flavored), I added about 2 cups of chicken broth besides the oyster juice from 3 - 8 oz cans of oysters. You'll want to add enough liquid so that the stuffing is very wet, and give it enough time to really soak into the bread - about 15 to 20 minutes. You could easily add chopped turkey giblets, garlic and about 1/2 cup bell peppers for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
MY boyfriend asked my to make oyster dressing because his moter used to make it when he was a child. I'm a tad nervous about oysters but this ended up tasting very good. I surprised myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is really good as is, and very similar to what I grew up with in Indiana. The only change I make is adding some chopped giblets from the turkey, along with a little broth they were cooked in. I've always used white bread because it doesn't compete with the delicate flavor of the oysters. If you never tried oyster dressing, try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLASTICJESUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this Thanksgiving dinner. I tried to heed the other critiques that stated this was too dry so I added the oyster juice from two cans. Over kill! Next time, I'll use 2 cans oysters and chicken broth only for the moisture. I love oysters, but this was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
ok but a little bland for my taste being from the south.. I use cornbread instead of bread crumbs,.. I also substitute tony's c or Zataran's seasoning instead of regular black pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States