Oyster Dressing (Stuffing) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is really good as is, and very similar to what I grew up with in Indiana. The only change I make is adding some chopped giblets from the turkey, along with a little broth they were cooked in. I've always used white bread because it doesn't compete with the delicate flavor of the oysters. If you never tried oyster dressing, try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this stuffing for Christmas dinner this past year and my family LOVED it. My uncle asked if he could take the left overs home and my aunt emailed me asking for the recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added a tube of sweet thyme sausage that I ground and browned first, then cooked the onions and celery in the sausage fat that I drained off of the meat. The sausage made it really robust - almost casserole-like. Warning: it will make your entire house smell like oysters when you make this, so be prepared with good ventilation and lots of candles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe, but for 8 cups of bread crumbs (I used herb flavored), I added about 2 cups of chicken broth besides the oyster juice from 3 - 8 oz cans of oysters. You'll want to add enough liquid so that the stuffing is very wet, and give it enough time to really soak into the bread - about 15 to 20 minutes. You could easily add chopped turkey giblets, garlic and about 1/2 cup bell peppers for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I think this is the first time I give a recipe a 1/5. I actually delayed dinner to make this stuff for my husband and all for it to end up in the garbage. Should have listened to Courtney5Cent on this one, this is beyond extremely dry. You might as well open a can of bread crumbs and stick like 3 oysters in it and dig in with a spoon because that is what it looked like...oysters drowning in a sea of sand. I had a feeling too with so much bread crumbs and almost nothing to give this thing moisture. The liquid from the oysters was no where near enough. It needs broth or SOMETHING that's liquid to balance all the crumbs but I'm so annoyed at wasting money with this recipe that I'm not going to bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
MY boyfriend asked my to make oyster dressing because his moter used to make it when he was a child. I'm a tad nervous about oysters but this ended up tasting very good. I surprised myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very good! It was a hit at my Thanksgiving table. I used canned oysters. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The flavor was good but this stuffing was EXTREMELY dry. I used two cans of fresh oysters and even added more water to the stuffing. I think that maybe more celery might help or definitely less bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney FiveCent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sabina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
ok but a little bland for my taste being from the south.. I use cornbread instead of bread crumbs,.. I also substitute tony's c or Zataran's seasoning instead of regular black pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very good. I would recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States