Oyster Dressing (Stuffing) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This recipe is similar to my grandfathers. He adds alot of half and half where it is almost soupy. It comes out nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
If I didn't make this stuffing at Thanksgiving, my family would Revolt! LOL. I have basically the same recipe submitted, congrats Stephanie for getting it published! It deserves 10 stars! I use Stove Top Stuffing and add fresh veggies plus a little poultry seasoning. Perfect!! Thank You Stephanie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe did not work at all as is...it was so dry - would have been eating dry bread crumbs if I hadn't moistened it up with a stick of melted butter and broth which actually brought it to a dressing status...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have been making oyster dressing for some time, this is close but surely the writer omitted the chicken broth, but then when I saw the video it did look dry. This should be a very moist dressing and have the look of golden on top but moist inside. I do.this recipe by look only so can give measurements, but by stirring all the ingredients it should be moister more than when you add water to stove top stuffing. By the way I also use pepperidge farm herb bread crumbs. Hope this helps. It would be five star if it had the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this Thanksgiving dinner. I tried to heed the other critiques that stated this was too dry so I added the oyster juice from two cans. Over kill! Next time, I'll use 2 cans oysters and chicken broth only for the moisture. I love oysters, but this was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe, but for 8 cups of bread crumbs (I used herb flavored), I added about 2 cups of chicken broth besides the oyster juice from 3 - 8 oz cans of oysters. You'll want to add enough liquid so that the stuffing is very wet, and give it enough time to really soak into the bread - about 15 to 20 minutes. You could easily add chopped turkey giblets, garlic and about 1/2 cup bell peppers for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
ok but a little bland for my taste being from the south.. I use cornbread instead of bread crumbs,.. I also substitute tony's c or Zataran's seasoning instead of regular black pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I think this is the first time I give a recipe a 1/5. I actually delayed dinner to make this stuff for my husband and all for it to end up in the garbage. Should have listened to Courtney5Cent on this one, this is beyond extremely dry. You might as well open a can of bread crumbs and stick like 3 oysters in it and dig in with a spoon because that is what it looked like...oysters drowning in a sea of sand. I had a feeling too with so much bread crumbs and almost nothing to give this thing moisture. The liquid from the oysters was no where near enough. It needs broth or SOMETHING that's liquid to balance all the crumbs but I'm so annoyed at wasting money with this recipe that I'm not going to bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
MY boyfriend asked my to make oyster dressing because his moter used to make it when he was a child. I'm a tad nervous about oysters but this ended up tasting very good. I surprised myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very good! It was a hit at my Thanksgiving table. I used canned oysters. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States