Oyster Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I had to take over the tradition from my mother-in-law a few years ago of making the Oyster Dressing for Thanksgiving! I found this recipe on here & it is simple to make. I tweak it ever so much buy my husband has approved it! Can't beat that :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was awesome, I've been looking for years for a recipe for oyster dressing "just like Mom used to make and this it! Will definetely be on the Thanksgiving menu from now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was WONDERFUL! Just like my grandmother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
If you want the flavor to "pop" a little more, here are some suggestions: Saute the oysters for a few minutes, remove from the heat. Proceed. Add 1 tsp. of sage to the bread cubes along with the other seasonings. If it is a bit too dry, add a bit more broth during the cooking time and cover again. I've also added diced fried bacon and some of the pan drippings to mine. Otherwise, this is how I make my oyster dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very good. I didn't have poultry seasoning, so I used Thyme and Sage in equal proportions -- BF liked it very much, but suggested just a bit more sage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I decided to make this recipe after my dad begged for oyster dressing at Thanksgiving. After using the suggestions of Adam, it came out perfect. It was a hit for the oyster lovers and my dad came back for seconds and asked for a to go helping. That's a winner in my book! Thanks you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My family has served oyster dressing with Christmas dinner for years. I was without my grandmother's old cookbook this year, so I made this - with a few modifications - and my family raved about the flavor! Modifications: I used two 8-oz cans of oysters and reserved the liquid from the can. I ended up using the reserved liquid from both cans of oysters in step 2 plus an additional 1/2 cup chicken broth after step 3 - more than tripling the amount of liquid called for in the recipe. You have to use judgment on the amount of liquid to add, and you will get it right with experience. The dressing mix should be thoroughly moistened but not dripping with more liquid than it can absorb. (I used dried out wheat bread from a normal storebought loaf; a crustier artisan bread might call for slightly less liquid.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thansgiving and found it dry and dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This recipe was fair,I found it to be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States