Oyster Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
We make this every year-Christmas and Thanksgiving. Goes great with poultry of any kind. You don't need to layer the ingredients--just mix them up and pour into a buttered casserole dish--dot with butter on top. You don't necessarily need the Worcestershire sauce either. If you add too many crackers, thin with condensed milk. You want a fairly thick consistency as it doesn't set up too much when baked. One year, all I could find were smoked oysters. It was OK, but not the flavor I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Bought FRESH oysters and decided to try this for something different and we really enjoyed this. I used only 1 can of cr. corn and 1 pint of fresh oysters (no juice). I put Old Bay seasoning in with the corn and also a pinch of red cayenne pepper. I only used 1/4 c. butter as that seemed like way too much. It turned out great and we will be enjoying this again. I made it in a 9 inch glass pan and baked it 425 for 25 minutes. I served it with mashed potatoes and it was quite delightful. Try to use fresh oysters as it is so much better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This has been a family tradition in my wife's family for years. It is now mine too. I always make it and have varied it somewhat. Instead of saltines, use butter crackers (Ritz, Club, etc.). Also, whip the cream and fold into the other ingredients. I don't use the Worchestershire but may try it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I had to change this based on what I had... and I cut the recipe in half once I realized I only had one can of oysters... I never have canned creamed corn, so I used a modified recipe off this site using frozen corn and cream cheese with a touch of butter. I layered that with the oysters and just crumbled enough butter crackers to make each layer. I kept the amounts of cream and worcestershire the same. Baked at 375. It was really good, and I'll make it again the way I did it. Thanks for sharing your recipe, and even tho I made changes, I think I stuck with the spirit of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
the corn took away from the oyster flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Was a great mix between scalloped corn and scalloped oysters. Josh thought was a little sticky, but we both thought it was very good!!! Easy to make and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Excellent recipe! I cut the corn amount to one can, and this is the best oyster recipe I've seen....the corn makes the oysters seem a bit less overpowering. Thanks, Becky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I have made this recipe for years and years, mostly at holiday time. Each time i make it it's wonderful> My mother made it and now that she is gone, it is my job to bring this to the holiday table. Never any leftovers!! Only thing different i do is dot with butter pats on top before baking and use only 1 can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I tried this recipe so I could decide if I should make it for Thanksgiving. It was absolutely delicious. The creamed corn cuts the strong taste of the oysters, your family won't even know what it is until they try it. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Not my favorite. I can only taste the oyster. Might as well just eat the oysters out of the can and leave out the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States