Oyster and Spinach Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this for my husband for New Year's Day with fresh oysters he shucked..... he hasn't stopped talking about it..... It was awesome... I added the precooked bacon chopped up when I added the cheese.... and used 4 cups of whole milk and one cup of half and half. Incredible texture, taste and color... I would love to try it with fresh clams... thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent! Being a clam lover, I am not too fond of oysters but this was terrific. I will make this again. I may try it with clams the next time. Just a personal preference. They are "meatier." A great recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was a really simple soup to make. Half way through cooking, I realized I had a can of clams instead of oysters but used it anyways. Still turned out great! I will try it with oysters next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Use some Extra Sharp White Cheddar and Real Cream YUM! (the x-sharp white melts like silk no clumping) No its not for the weight watcher but if your cooking for company GO FOR THE FLAVOR! Need spice? try Old Bay Seasoning and say YES to the Bacon - yeah its a heart stopper but for those who are the weight watchers just don't eat a lot and exercise an extra 10 minutes the next day. ENJOY. Thank you Raoulysgirl for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The spinach and mushrooms give this a classy appearance and adds a bit of elegance to the dinner table. In the taste deparment it falls flat, and in my opinion, really can't stand on it's own. However, it is excellent when accompanied with flavorful garnishes. I topped with "Ranch Style Oyster Crackers" from this site and added a tablespoon of chopped green onions to each bowl (seconds were requested). This recipe falls in the category of healthy/low-fat recipes, so I would not expect it to have a rich buttery flavor that is traditional with oyster stew, but at the very least it needs salt & pepper; maybe even some chowder seasoning or something just to give it a little pick me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very Tasty. I put leftovers in the freezer, they were good too as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Excellent recipe! I used some 1/2 & 1/2 to make a little creamier and used Paula Deens house seasoning. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Monticello, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I grew up with oyster stew that was simply milk, butter and oysters... and is still a favorite. This is a new dimension... very tasty, very different but still showcasing the oyster flavor. I did as another reviewer suggested and added bacon (diced and crisply cooked). I also added a bit of salt and about a teaspoon of habanero sauce. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by playsindirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I loved this recipe although I did make a few changes, I used 2 lbs of fresh oysters and added a 1/2 lb of bacon (chopped and fried crispy) I double the sauce and used Heavy Whipping cream instead of milk. 8 oz of mushrooms and a red onion chopped. This is wonderful chowder!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States