Oyster and Spinach Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My husband loves oysters and he looooved this chowder. I am not such a huge oyster fan and this was very edible. Definitely get a lot of the oyster flavor in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved this! I did add A LOT more spices though, I'm a flavor junkie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Used half & half, 1# of fresh oysters, & pepper jack cheese instead. Also added a pinch of kosher salt & ground black pepper. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A good recipe base that needs some extra touches to bring it from blah to great. Next time, I'll try bacon,Old Bay or something--anything--to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very yummy! Added a little old bay to season it up a bit. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This chowder was delicious! I followed the recipe exact. My husband always compares any kind of oyster soup to his mother's dish, but he said I liked this just as much if not more! Thanks for sharing this recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Excellent. Don't be afraid to try it. It sounds crazy putting spinach with oyster stew but it was awesome. My husband grew up with fresh oyster stew and he is 65 now and loves the stuff. He had only had oyster stew with milk, butter and oysters. This is a really nice twist to oyster stew which he requests often. We always use fresh/frozen oysters, never canned with this. I shred my spinach leaves a little so you don't get such a big piece of spinach and we also like a tsp. of Old Bay in the chowder. We sometimes add salad shrimp in this which is really nice. It even reheats which is a plus as there are only two of us so we at least have a couple meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I used canned smoked oysters, double mushrooms, and extra nonfat milk powder for thickening. We had arugula, so I used that with stems removed and leaves cut in half. Added some black pepper, roasted garlic, and mesquite spice blend. I melted in crumbled sharp cheddar and a few slices of provolone and DH LOVED it! I don't adore oysters, but this was pretty darn good with a crusty roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Used skim milk, 4 celery ribs, 1 teaspoon worcetershire sauce, 4 garlic cloves, and 1/2 stick of butter (very slight changes). 1-10 rating- I give it a 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richardcook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States