Oyster and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made this a few years ago for Thanksgiving and love the recipe. Not too fishy. I'd always made my Oyster stuffing with Smoked Oysters and it was very powerful, this is mild and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very very good! I used Jiffy cornbread mix because it gives it a little bit of a sweet flavor which I think helps cut the fishy taste of the oysters, however, we didn't find this fishy at all. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love love love this recipe. It has become a staple of our Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This dressing was so good. I make it often and I add hot sausage for a different, but great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The end result looked better than it tasted. A little too fishy for my taste, and this was my first endeavor at cornbread stuffing. Didn't much like the texture, but I think that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this dressing for thanksgiving dinner. It tasted awesome, but next time I'm going to reduce the liquids a bit, it was just too "packed down" and not fluffy enough. Taste-wise, it was a hit, though. Definitely not too "fishy". I did add 2 tablespoons of honey to my jiffy cornbread when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I am from Louisiana so Iused fresh oysters. My fiance' refused to let me use the can oysters. It took about 3 dozen to equal the amount needed. Prepared the cornbread the day before Thanksgiving so I would have less to do on turkey day. You have to like oysters, but this was great and I will make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the worst thing I have ever made. I feel very bad for my guests on Thanksgiving day. This is the kind of recipe that makes you think twice about making something "new" for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I give it four stars. My husband loved it but it was a bit too fishy tasting for me. I think next time instead of adding all the reserved oyster juice I will add 1/2 oyster juice and 1/2 chicken broth in addition to the can of chicken broth the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I discovered this recipe last year at Thanksgiving. The whole family loved it. I made it again for my office holiday party and it won first place in the side dish category. The second time, I cooked it in a crock pot. It worked very well actually. I cooked it about 4 hours and stirred it a couple times when it was getting too cooked on the sides. The other modification is that we add a little sugar (2 tps) to each cornbread mix. Its my southern roots, I like my cornbread a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States