Oyster and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I was too lazy to make corn bread so I just used the boxed corn bread dressing. I had to follow the instructions on the box and just added the oysters. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe has been in our family for over a 100 years. What I have done is removed the oysters and replaced it with chopped turkey and added a 1/2 box of corn bread dressing mix plus the amount mention in this recipe. You would have to add more chicken broth. The more broth you use the more moist your dressing will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was absolutely fantastic! I never liked this dish (even my grandmother's Boston version) growing up. However, I wanted to bring something different to our neighbors' Thanksgiving and this was perfect. It seems like a lot of oysters when making the dish but the flavor is actually subtle. I used one of those big baking catering pans and it was perfect for a crowd of 30+. I have never ever seen an entire oyster stuffing gone. Everyone raved about it. Make sure you leave a sign out that it's oyster stuffing since it looks like cornbread stuffing. Avoid shellfish allergies. I made this exactly as it was stated except in the directions it mentions parsley. I didn't realize that was the celery until after I sauteed the onions. It didn't matter that I threw the chopped celery in with the rest of the ingredients in the end. Also, the hint on just using one pot worked out really well. I melted the butter, sauteed the onions in the butter. Pulled it off the stove, added the rest of the ingredients in the pot and transferred to a disposable catering pan baking dish. I baked it for 45-50 minutes max. This will become a staple for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Liz made it for Thanksgiving 2008. Pretty good. Made with sweet cornbread mix (Jiffy?). Try it without the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chasland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It was very good for oyster dressing, but I don't think oyster dressing is something I care for, I wanted to try this recipe though and would recommend if you love the oyster flavor to give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Didn't alter anything! My family said it was just ok, I think they were being nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I did this to change things up for Thanksgiving today. We like oysters, so I figured why not. This was a hit for us! The cornbread part was sweet and went well with the gravy we served. I will admit that I was a little worried as I poured the oyster juice in the mix and then the whole can of chicken broth, but it turned out perfect. The only thing I did change was that I cooked it in an 11 X 9 pan vs. the 9 X 9 pan the recipe called for. I cannot imagine ever making a dressing out of a bag again. This is so easy and the flavor is just wonderful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The other reviewers said they were hesitant but that it came out wonderufl. I found it to be WAY TOO FISHY - even with half the amount of oysters! I couldn't eat it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
use two slices of white and two whole wheat slices that have been dried out in the microwave and crumbled into the mix. Depending on family tastes you can also cut the amount of the sage seasoning used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Mainer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made this a few years ago for Thanksgiving and love the recipe. Not too fishy. I'd always made my Oyster stuffing with Smoked Oysters and it was very powerful, this is mild and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States