Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I've always been a fan of oyakodon at Japanese resturants around town. Its good to know that its so easy to make! I was short on eggs at the moment, so I added about 1/4 cup milk to the egg mixture and it turned out very nice and fluffy! Again, I did not have dashi stock, so I simply used chicken stock. I also added a bit of garlic into the mix for added taste. Overall, this recipe is great and an awesome before or after workout meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the ORIGINAL Oyakodon recipe! If you can't find dashi, try putting fish stock instead of chicken. Dashi are little dryed fish turned into powder...! By the way, did you know that "Oyako" means "Parents and Children" (in this case, chicken and eggs); don is just the word used for "rice bowl" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
very flavorful. Very simple to make. I wish i had the Jasmine but I only had brown rice, still was liked but everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
great meal to cook with staples I always have around the house. And the bonus was both my kids loved it! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good and deceptively easy! Nice savory and slightly sweet flavour. The Jasmine rice is a real plus to this. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Awesome! Looks kind of goofy in the pan but tastest heavenly. It is perfect as is - however if you are pressed for time / ingredients, consider making the broth with packets of veggies and soy out of packaged udon soup. It has a pretty good flavor too, and you can eat the oyakodon over the udon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I couldn't find dashi powder, so I substituted veggie stock, which worked just fine. Simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very good! I didn't have Dashi Stock so I used chicken stock. My whole family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very authentic and very easy. imho, the dashi and the mirin are essential for real japanese diner flavor. you can buy it in the asian foods aisle of your regular supermarket. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a delicious rice bowl. This is not soup as it may appear if you skim read the recipe which I am often guilty of. It was a wonderful Japanese dish of jasmine rice topped with chicken and egg. The final addition of the broth brings it together which such a wonderful flavour. I didn't have dashi powder so I used chicken broth as the other reviewers suggested. I also did not have Japanese rice wine so I substituted the rice wine vinegar I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States