Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the ORIGINAL Oyakodon recipe! If you can't find dashi, try putting fish stock instead of chicken. Dashi are little dryed fish turned into powder...! By the way, did you know that "Oyako" means "Parents and Children" (in this case, chicken and eggs); don is just the word used for "rice bowl" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Real crowd-pleaser here. My kids loved it. Easy to make. To those who say that replacing the dashi with chicken stock, I feel you're missing the Japanese essence of this dish. I heartily recommend seeking out either dashi powder or, if you're feeling a little adventurous, try making your own. It's really quite easy. There are numerous recipes for dashi on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I couldn't find dashi powder, so I substituted veggie stock, which worked just fine. Simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe -- thank you! If you want to be truly authentic, please use Japanese medium or short grain rice, not jasmine rice, and leave the egg slightly runny. The texture really is quite different, both with the runnier egg and with the Japanese rice. Also, dashi is a light, delicious broth made from kombu (kelp) and katsuobushi (flakes of dried bonito). It's very easy to make. You can get the ingredients, or dashi powder, at any Asian market or in the international aisle of high-end grocery stores. Dashi is NOT powdered little dried fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Oyakodon is one of my favorite Japanese recipe and I have tried it multiple times in an authentic Japanese restaurants in the States and Japan. Compared to those recipes provided by native Japanese home cooks on allrecipes.jp, this is a pretty nice recipe. I'd like to share how my Oyakodon turned out for those of who do not have all the ingredients written here. I used 6 pieces of chicken breast tenders, 1/2 onion, 2cups chicken stock, 1/4cup soy sauce, 3 tbsp red wine, 3 tbsp brown sugar, 4 eggs. The sauce wasn't thick enough, and I thought it was too much soy sauce. Wish I had Mirin. Although I didn't like it much, my American boyfriend loved it. I'd love to try this again with the original ingredients and also with breaded chicken cutlet (Chicken Katsudon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GloryChoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
in order for it to be traditional substitute jasmine rice for japonica, jasmine is long grain rice usually used in Thailand, japonica is short grain and much stickier and usually comes from Japan or Korea. Aside from that, this recipe is amazing and tastes almost like my grand mother used to make me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JonJon Gagnon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very authentic and very easy. imho, the dashi and the mirin are essential for real japanese diner flavor. you can buy it in the asian foods aisle of your regular supermarket. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Easy to make but only one thing. I rinse rice very quick only one time not until clear water because lost of nutritions in rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a delicious rice bowl. This is not soup as it may appear if you skim read the recipe which I am often guilty of. It was a wonderful Japanese dish of jasmine rice topped with chicken and egg. The final addition of the broth brings it together which such a wonderful flavour. I didn't have dashi powder so I used chicken broth as the other reviewers suggested. I also did not have Japanese rice wine so I substituted the rice wine vinegar I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe for Oyakodon. However, if you really want to make it authentic Japanese, you will have to use Japanese short grain rice. We never use Jasmine rice in Japanese dishes because the texture is not right and the aroma doesn't mix with the flavors of other ingredients well. Other than that, the recipe is a good solid one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States