Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Easy to make but only one thing. I rinse rice very quick only one time not until clear water because lost of nutritions in rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I couldn't find dashi powder, so I substituted veggie stock, which worked just fine. Simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very good! I didn't have Dashi Stock so I used chicken stock. My whole family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a delicious rice bowl. This is not soup as it may appear if you skim read the recipe which I am often guilty of. It was a wonderful Japanese dish of jasmine rice topped with chicken and egg. The final addition of the broth brings it together which such a wonderful flavour. I didn't have dashi powder so I used chicken broth as the other reviewers suggested. I also did not have Japanese rice wine so I substituted the rice wine vinegar I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriJM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I've always been a fan of oyakodon at Japanese resturants around town. Its good to know that its so easy to make! I was short on eggs at the moment, so I added about 1/4 cup milk to the egg mixture and it turned out very nice and fluffy! Again, I did not have dashi stock, so I simply used chicken stock. I also added a bit of garlic into the mix for added taste. Overall, this recipe is great and an awesome before or after workout meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
very flavorful. Very simple to make. I wish i had the Jasmine but I only had brown rice, still was liked but everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILITHSANGLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good and deceptively easy! Nice savory and slightly sweet flavour. The Jasmine rice is a real plus to this. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
simple to make & tasty. A bit on the sweet side, so I cut back a little on the sugar, and used botan rice. something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Awesome! Looks kind of goofy in the pan but tastest heavenly. It is perfect as is - however if you are pressed for time / ingredients, consider making the broth with packets of veggies and soy out of packaged udon soup. It has a pretty good flavor too, and you can eat the oyakodon over the udon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the ORIGINAL Oyakodon recipe! If you can't find dashi, try putting fish stock instead of chicken. Dashi are little dryed fish turned into powder...! By the way, did you know that "Oyako" means "Parents and Children" (in this case, chicken and eggs); don is just the word used for "rice bowl" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States