Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Real crowd-pleaser here. My kids loved it. Easy to make. To those who say that replacing the dashi with chicken stock, I feel you're missing the Japanese essence of this dish. I heartily recommend seeking out either dashi powder or, if you're feeling a little adventurous, try making your own. It's really quite easy. There are numerous recipes for dashi on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very authentic and very easy. imho, the dashi and the mirin are essential for real japanese diner flavor. you can buy it in the asian foods aisle of your regular supermarket. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the ORIGINAL Oyakodon recipe! If you can't find dashi, try putting fish stock instead of chicken. Dashi are little dryed fish turned into powder...! By the way, did you know that "Oyako" means "Parents and Children" (in this case, chicken and eggs); don is just the word used for "rice bowl" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Awesome! Looks kind of goofy in the pan but tastest heavenly. It is perfect as is - however if you are pressed for time / ingredients, consider making the broth with packets of veggies and soy out of packaged udon soup. It has a pretty good flavor too, and you can eat the oyakodon over the udon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
simple to make & tasty. A bit on the sweet side, so I cut back a little on the sugar, and used botan rice. something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good and deceptively easy! Nice savory and slightly sweet flavour. The Jasmine rice is a real plus to this. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
very flavorful. Very simple to make. I wish i had the Jasmine but I only had brown rice, still was liked but everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I've always been a fan of oyakodon at Japanese resturants around town. Its good to know that its so easy to make! I was short on eggs at the moment, so I added about 1/4 cup milk to the egg mixture and it turned out very nice and fluffy! Again, I did not have dashi stock, so I simply used chicken stock. I also added a bit of garlic into the mix for added taste. Overall, this recipe is great and an awesome before or after workout meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a delicious rice bowl. This is not soup as it may appear if you skim read the recipe which I am often guilty of. It was a wonderful Japanese dish of jasmine rice topped with chicken and egg. The final addition of the broth brings it together which such a wonderful flavour. I didn't have dashi powder so I used chicken broth as the other reviewers suggested. I also did not have Japanese rice wine so I substituted the rice wine vinegar I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very good! I didn't have Dashi Stock so I used chicken stock. My whole family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States