Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TM
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe! I substituted chicken with beef (called Tanindon - "Tanin" means "unrelated" because egg and beef are not related to each other!). I also added spinach and mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
great meal to cook with staples I always have around the house. And the bonus was both my kids loved it! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Oyakodon is one of my favorite Japanese recipe and I have tried it multiple times in an authentic Japanese restaurants in the States and Japan. Compared to those recipes provided by native Japanese home cooks on allrecipes.jp, this is a pretty nice recipe. I'd like to share how my Oyakodon turned out for those of who do not have all the ingredients written here. I used 6 pieces of chicken breast tenders, 1/2 onion, 2cups chicken stock, 1/4cup soy sauce, 3 tbsp red wine, 3 tbsp brown sugar, 4 eggs. The sauce wasn't thick enough, and I thought it was too much soy sauce. Wish I had Mirin. Although I didn't like it much, my American boyfriend loved it. I'd love to try this again with the original ingredients and also with breaded chicken cutlet (Chicken Katsudon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GloryChoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is one of my favorite Japanese dishes and it tasted just like the real thing, even without dashi. I've never eaten this with jasmine rice so I went with short grain brown rice and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This dish was such a success! I HIGHLY recommend finding the dashi powder. It's what gives this dish it's authentic flavor and if you're not using it you are missing out. I don't keep wine in the house so I used rice wine vinegar instead. Soooo tasty! I can't wait to make this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allisonjen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Real crowd-pleaser here. My kids loved it. Easy to make. To those who say that replacing the dashi with chicken stock, I feel you're missing the Japanese essence of this dish. I heartily recommend seeking out either dashi powder or, if you're feeling a little adventurous, try making your own. It's really quite easy. There are numerous recipes for dashi on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very authentic and very easy. imho, the dashi and the mirin are essential for real japanese diner flavor. you can buy it in the asian foods aisle of your regular supermarket. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the ORIGINAL Oyakodon recipe! If you can't find dashi, try putting fish stock instead of chicken. Dashi are little dryed fish turned into powder...! By the way, did you know that "Oyako" means "Parents and Children" (in this case, chicken and eggs); don is just the word used for "rice bowl" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Awesome! Looks kind of goofy in the pan but tastest heavenly. It is perfect as is - however if you are pressed for time / ingredients, consider making the broth with packets of veggies and soy out of packaged udon soup. It has a pretty good flavor too, and you can eat the oyakodon over the udon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
simple to make & tasty. A bit on the sweet side, so I cut back a little on the sugar, and used botan rice. something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States