Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Fascinating combination of flavors. I loved it and will make it again. It sounded so good reading the recipe I just had to get real Dashi to make this. I had to order it via the internet....and I got plenty!!! This stuff is potent and a little goes a long way. After tasting the plain Dashi stock I am convinced there is NO substitute. I'm also sure there are MANY other good uses for Dashi and am searching. In any case I suggest making this exactly as the recipe calls for, at least the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made according to recipe, ordering the hard to find ingredients online. But it came out too sweet for my taste. If I make it again, I will reduced the brown sugar to half. I also prefer a dish with more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made this as the recipe stated assuming the dashi to water ratio is one tsp per cup and it tasted kind of bland. I also thought it had too much rice. Next time I'll use one cup of rice, double the dashi ratio and add some japanese curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Good stuff, super tasty. I used low sodium soy sauce and cut it to an 1/8 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Exactly what I wanted! Thanks! I used cubed leftover chicken and leftover chicken stock, had no wine but red so I used a splash of grape juice. Probably not what the original tastes like at all, but it was great for a starter idea for our supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
It was so tasty my kids love it so much! I only used half of the soy sauce and added a tiny little salt. Don't like my egg too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I almost always tweak recipes, but this one is brilliant exactly as written. Very authentic. The dashi stock is an absolute MUST as there just is no substitute flavor-wise; I can't stress this point strongly enough!! A few thinly shaved scallions on top and one last touch of salt/soy sauce to taste finishes this dish off perfectly. The jasmine rice works, but I do still prefer the more traditional short grain. Thank you for this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Oyakodon has always been one of my favorites. This recipe is Delicious! Perfectly made. In Our house We call it "A Keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe, except for the Jasmine rice. Use Calrose instead. When we make this, we rehydrate dried shiitake mushrooms and use the soaking water for part of the dashi. It gives it a boost of flavor. Then slice the shiitakes (discarding the stems) along with some bamboo shoots and add with the onions when cooking. My mom was born and raised in Japan. As a child, this was one of my favorite dishes. I still enjoy it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was wonderful. I made exactly as written; my son even ate it all together instead of separating out the onions. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States