Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Tastes great, but it's much too sweet and personally it was too much soup as it doesn't really reduce. I'd cut back to 1tbsp brown sugar, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1 cup dashi stock (used half a tbsp dashi powder for it), and it's perfect. I also pan fried the chicken pieces with some salt and white pepper for a bit more flavour. Top with some green onions and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Dawn
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Yum! I added some zucchini and had to use chicken stock and a little hoi sin instead of dashi. Super easy and turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very simple and authentic dish (aside from the type of rice, use Japanase short grain). Dahsi is pretty key to the flavor but if you can't find it chicken bouillon would do, chicken broth would be too light. It does run a bit sweet but still very good and will make again without modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is one of my Japanese favorites! Try throwing in some shiitake mushrooms for a little extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
it was easy to make and i was super surprised about how great it tasted. I did cut back on some of the ingrediants such as the fish powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
It's delicious. However, If you want to go for spectacular, I suggest you don't scramble the eggs. Instead when your dish is almost done add in 4 eggs unscrambled and let it cook or poach for two more minutes. Serve it over white rice and pop the yolk when you're going to eat it. The egg yolk added to the dashi makes it taste so good, so rich, and so slap ya mama good as carla hall would say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrigada, Barrigada, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
i thought i'd try this because it sounded good and we like Japanese food. I'm not Japanese and rarely attempt to the cook the food. But this came out delicious -and quickly became on of our favorites. i now make it every time I have leftover chicken and need something quick. It's sort of a Japanese comfort food and easy to make. Made it for guests one day and they raved over it. Once you purchase the ingredients for your pantry, this recipe is a whiz to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very easy to make and very tasty! Lovee this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
It was pretty close to what I ate all the time in Japan and since it was my favorite food then, it's still available to me as my favorite food now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by conspiracychef
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
1st let me say there are three ingredients that I do not eat as is: 1) tomatoes 2) mushroom 3) eggs, and it's the eggs that make this recipe so special to me. I made this dish tonight for my girlfriend who lived in Japan and told me this was one of her favorite dishes. I got thumbs up not only from her, I got thumbs up for the pic from her friends in Japan.....even our children ate it and this is not the norm! I made a few adjustments: I used 3 eggs instead of four I used 6 chicken thighs instead of four I made my own dashi stock using dried seaweed and bonito flakes (chicken stock just wont do). ...and I added snap pees for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States