Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Oishii! My Japanese boyfriend devoured this, making yummy noises throughout. Alterations: I halved the recipe, only used 2 eggs, and four shiitake mushrooms instead of three (we both love them) and thighs instead of breats, but only about 2/3 of what was called for, not big meat eaters. I ended up not having any fat to drain, but in bigger quantities I can see how this would be a problem. I had to use about 1/4 cup more chicken broth, and then another 1/4 cup water to give it an soupiness at all, which is what I was after. I will make this again, it is so easy! Oh, I also used 1/2 T of mirin in place of 1/2 T of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This does taste just like the Oyako Donburi at the Japanese restaurant. I could eat it everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I used salmon instead of chicken and it tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I halfed the recipe but I think it came out fine. I put a lot more vegetables that said was needed & I think they made it better. Tasted just like the ones in the restaraunts. I also used low sodium soy sauce & low sodium chicken broth b/c the dried mushrooms already add lots of salt to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very, very good. Made recipe exactly as written and adored it, as did my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is my favorite!! Everytime I make it everyone loves it! Plus it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was very good! I also decreased the eggs. I made it for 8 servings and used six eggs. I also added sliced button mushrooms. Thanks for a terrific and authentic tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I grew up with this food, but we didn't cook this dish at home so I was happy to find such a great recipe for it. We absolutely loved the flavors. I reduced the eggs from 5 to 3 (personal preference) and used boneless skinless thighs instead of the chicken breasts. The shitake mushrooms really make this dish. Thanks, Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
this was great! i was afraid it would be a bit too salty, based on the other reviews, but followed the receipe nonetheless. thought it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
really easy to cook and it tastes wonderful! My friend couldn't believe it when I told him the ingredients! would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States