Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved this dish. I added 4 tbs of white cooking wine and covered the eggs to cook it helped retain the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Wow! Super yummy! I'm from Hawaii and definitely restaurant quality. After reading the reviews, I added 1 tbsp mirin, 3 tbsp soy sauce, and a pat of butter. I marinated the chicken in 1 tsp cornstarch, soy sauce, and sesame oil for about 20 mins to help keep it moist and tasty. I also used 3 jumbo eggs and it was perfect. Next time, I will add 1-2 cups more chicken broth. Cover while the eggs are simmering! Great recipe, Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
YAY! Thank you for posting. I love Oyakodon and this turned out tasting just like I hoped it would! I used regular white mushrooms. : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Super delicious. Made some changes to it. Used about 5 tbsp soy sauce, 3 tbsp mirin, and one tbsp sugar as suggested by another reviewer. Also add bamboo shoots if i have. But this is what puts it over the top. Instead of chicken stock I make simple dashi using nobu's recipe - Konbu in pot of water, med heat, just before it boils take out konbu, remove from heat, and add bonito flakes. Drain. Then I soak dried shiitakes in warm water, then save the water and pour that (about a cup) into the pan as well. Sometimes it tends to evaporate so ill throw in a little chicken stock, or just cover it. My parents are vegetarian, so I'll make theirs with tofu and extra mushrooms - shiitake, regular, and enoki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I love Okyakodon so I was excited to make it at home for the first time. I omitted mushrooms and the carrot, since when I order it around here it doesn't have these ingredients. I also added 1 tbsp of mirin per other reviews. Everything turned out great and was delicious over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I was really surprised how well this came out. Tasted authentic. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
this tasted sooo good!!! I had to use sliced white button mushrooms instead but used a whole 12 ounce pack and it was great! can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
With no prior knowledge of what oyako donburi tastes like, I decided to make this recipe. I made it a couple of times and it tasted good enough. I finally had oyako donburi in Japantown in SF last month and it is spot on! I was pleasantly surprised. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnesante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great soup! Next time I'll probably use a whole can of chicken broth instead of just a cup thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States