Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I was impressed how simple it was to follow this recipe! In Hawaii, there is a very big asian influence and Japanese food is regularly eaten here. I must admit that this recipe tastes just like it does in a Japanese restaurant! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
this was great! i was afraid it would be a bit too salty, based on the other reviews, but followed the receipe nonetheless. thought it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This is a great dish to prepare if you like Oriental food, the sauce is perfect and great over rice. I also like how the eggs hold everything together while letting the sauce penetrate into the rice. Overall a 4.5/5, only because it does take some time to make, but is definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Awesome! I used to eat oyako don for lunch when I lived in Japan. This recipe was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe....almost taste like it came from my favourite joint in Tokyo...you can substitute the chicken with beef and beef broth....and also use regular fresh mushrooms from the neighbourhood supermarket instead....eat it with a lot of Japanese chili powder..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Having lived in Hawaii and Okinawa,Japan, I was thrilled to find this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. It seemed too easy to make but once made, was right on the mark in flavor and authenticity. My kids were thrilled to be able to get oyako at home once again. Super , super recipe! Mahalo Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Great recipe. I used 5 tbs of soy sauce, 3 tbs of Mirin, 1Tbs of sugar and 1/4 cups of water. One of my husband favorit dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This is fast, easy, AND delicious. I added about a tablespoon more soy sauce. It's the closest thing I've found to the oyako don served at local Japanese restaurants. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
really easy to cook and it tastes wonderful! My friend couldn't believe it when I told him the ingredients! would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I grew up with this food, but we didn't cook this dish at home so I was happy to find such a great recipe for it. We absolutely loved the flavors. I reduced the eggs from 5 to 3 (personal preference) and used boneless skinless thighs instead of the chicken breasts. The shitake mushrooms really make this dish. Thanks, Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States