Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This is a great dish to prepare if you like Oriental food, the sauce is perfect and great over rice. I also like how the eggs hold everything together while letting the sauce penetrate into the rice. Overall a 4.5/5, only because it does take some time to make, but is definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Awesome! I used to eat oyako don for lunch when I lived in Japan. This recipe was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Fast, easy and tastes good! I'll definitely be cooking this for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
good, but bland. I suggest adding more soy, and tons of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
this was great. It reminded me of moms oyako dons from when I was a child. I added some sliced bamboo shoots to add a crunchy texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe....almost taste like it came from my favourite joint in Tokyo...you can substitute the chicken with beef and beef broth....and also use regular fresh mushrooms from the neighbourhood supermarket instead....eat it with a lot of Japanese chili powder..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Having lived in Hawaii and Okinawa,Japan, I was thrilled to find this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. It seemed too easy to make but once made, was right on the mark in flavor and authenticity. My kids were thrilled to be able to get oyako at home once again. Super , super recipe! Mahalo Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Great recipe. I used 5 tbs of soy sauce, 3 tbs of Mirin, 1Tbs of sugar and 1/4 cups of water. One of my husband favorit dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This is fast, easy, AND delicious. I added about a tablespoon more soy sauce. It's the closest thing I've found to the oyako don served at local Japanese restaurants. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Probably an okay recipe but I doubled it for my family and it seemed too eggy. I have made a beef donburi that didn't call for egg and I enjoyed that more. But I'm a beef person so that could be it. Very comfort food though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANDREWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States