Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My family thought this was great. I used fresh instead of dried shiitake mushrooms. I used 4 eggs because that was all I had. The directions should be rewritten to include more steps and to specify whether or not the pan is covered or uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I just made this recipe and loved it at first. My Mom said it was too salty. I thought the eggs were the only part of the dish that was too salty. Other than that, I love the recipe. I might omit the salt and maybe use low sodium chicken broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Tried it yesterday and it was a real hit! The kids loved it and so did everyone else. Only change....because the soy sauce I had on hand was saltier than most I only used 2 tbsp and substituted the other 2 tbsp with bonito soup base. I was amazed how fast it was to make it. Would definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is very good. I followed the recipe exactly. I have egg issues so I was skeptical, but this is really delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a favorite dish in our family. In addition to making it with the chicken, we also make it using a spicy ahi. Everyone loves that. It's easy to make, and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was just as good as the dish that usually costs me $10 at my favorite Japanese place! I would recommend slicing the chicken into thin strips and marinating it in about 1 Tbs cornstarch, 1 Tbs soy sauce, and 1 Tbs sesame oil (all approximations...) at least 30 minutes prior to cooking. This adds flavor and makes the chicken more tender. Instead of simmering the egg, I tried cracking an egg over each bowl of hot rice like they do in the restaurants. But I think you need a special clay pot to make that work, because my egg never cooked and I ended up microwaving my bowl in fears of salmonella...yeah....not ideal. So follow the directions for simmering the egg in the recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yum! This recipe is easy and delicious. I omit the 1/2 tp salt because it doesn't need it with all the soy sauce. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Maybe I didn't make this correct but I think it had too much egg, I'd lower the amount of egg by half and add more broth. The shiitake mushrooms were the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
While ours looked less than apptizing, it was good, I thought it was a bit sweet, everyone else thought it was salty. Our mushroom were tinned and had an odd texture, and I used corn instead of green onion. I definantly think my parents will allow it to be made again , specially since it isn't expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daelynna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Tastes good, but can't get past the soy sauce covered (brown) eggs. Leftovers are a no go on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States