Oyako Donburi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
All three men in the house (two of which are 6 and 8) enjoyed this. It only made enough for the three of them. There were no raves about how good it was and my husband even added some ginger sauce to his.... hence the 4 stars. Good...but not great. (I did not add mushrooms as my husband hates them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
AI!! Thank you so much for this amazing dish!! I can die happy now. By the way, it certainly tastes better when its Shitake mushrooms and Kikkoman soy sauce. The first time I made this dish I only had canned mushrooms (I don't even know what kind they were...) and La Choy soy sauce... I WILL NEVER DO THAT AGAIN!! Sacrilege, really...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Just delish! My husband and kids LOVE this recipe. Sometimes I throw in some julienned zucchini too as an added vegetable. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
It was delicious! I used some straight noodles in the dish instead of serving on rice. I put in three large carrots and used the white parts of the green onion instead of the "half onion". I marinaded the chicken in soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, and drops of sesame oil and fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is very good! When I first read that it uses 5 eggs, I was very hesitant and was seriously considering reducing it to 3. But I stuck with the recipe and am glad that I did. Turned out very tasty and very Japanese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very good, I've made it several times. However, I prefer to use boneless chicken thighs, which usually need no additional chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Awesome! I added less soy and some of the shitake water (after soaking) to the sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was so easy and fast its sure to be a new staple in my home. The flavor was amazing and its easy to see why its called a comfort food. Next time though, ill be sure to use fresh mushrooms (or soak them longer) and Ill probably use less sugar to make it healthier. Also, I just let the chicken cook a little while I prepped the veggies, then shredded it with my fingers. Saved the raw chicken/cutting board mess, but no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Excellent! One of my favorite dishes at our local Hawaiian and Japanese places, although one of them stopped serving it. Only changes I made were I used 1/2 of the sugar called for and substituted 1T of Mirin for 1T of soy sauce. I omitted carrots b/c I don't like them in this dish, used white mushrooms 'cuz I had them, added bean sprouts 'cuz I love them and next time will add celery. 5 eggs were perfect, use them all. Did take the advise to cover the pan for awhile to let the eggs cook, but took it off for a few minutes at the end to let some liquid evaporate. Thanks so much for this recipe it's a keeper and one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
AMAZING! I made this for an anime night at our house, and I got rave reviews. ^_^ My only change to the recipe were to add 1 TBSP mirin. It was so good! Domo arigato gozaimasu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States