Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I am txnurse5 and I must admit that it does not feed 6. My recipe is written as an "observer". This recipe is strictly an observer recipe. I watched my mother, grandmother and aunt make this meal. It's all a matter of seasoning and tasting. That's how it's done in the south. Don't be afraid to experiment with different spices and techniques. I have grown up with this rule, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
What an excellent recipe!!! First off let me say that this does not quite feed 6 people(more like 2.5). I bought a little over 3lbs (exactly 6 oxtails) and it fed 2 people with very little leftovers. I did trim my oxtails a little so that I would not end up with a pot of grease. Also I slightly altered the recipe (I always end up doing that) by adding 2 cans of beef broth, doubled both the Greek seasoning and season all, used a little worcestershire sauce in place of browning sauce, and doubled the garlic. Oh and I cooked for 3 hours(TENNNDER). The gravy is sooo good. I served this with Jamaican style rice and peas and fried plantains (from this site). I will post a pic soon of this wonderful dish. It certainly is a soul food blast from the past. Thanks so much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love oxtails but never had them with gravy until now. I love this recipe and so does my friends. I will make this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyonecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe that my husband and I enjoyed very much. I don't like using the grease or shortening in the gravy though, and I don't think it needs it. Next time I will just use the broth with the flour only to make a gravy, like in the smoothered porkchops recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
AWESOME! I also added a scotch bonnet pepper for some West Indian kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Let me say first that we really liked this recipe... it's good comfort food. But, I'm giving it only three stars for two reasons: 1) it didn't step up and knock my socks off...DH didn't rave and say "make this again soon!" but he said it was good. And 2) there is NO WAY this serves 6 people! There is not much meat on oxtails, it is mostly bone. I started with 2.21# and with the mashed potatoes and the gravy (which was good) it just served the two of us. I will admit that DH is a big eater, but I am NOT so we even out. If the amount listed was for two people, I would raise it to four stars, but for novice cooks who don't know, it's very misleading, hence one less star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Wonderful recipe! Make sure you double the gravy, there was a "fight" over the last ladle full left in the bowl (I won)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I was really nervouse when making this dish but it turned out perfectly. I didn't use the "greek seasonings" just Lawry's seasoned salt and pepper and it was fine. And oxtails are relatively fatty, so if you've never had them like one of the commenters below then don't be surprised. You can trim it down though. But that's where most of the flavor is in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Usually cook oxtails in a crock pot so next time I'll follow the recipe and slow cook on low for 6 hrs. Great mix of flavors and the gravy was awesome. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I had never tasted oxtails before and wanted to try something different. Maybe I should've trimmed the fat first because they were very fatty. The taste was okay, but tasted too "stewy". I browned the meat first and sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the water. Glad I can say I've had them, but probably won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States