Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very very good. I agree this does not feed 6. You need at least 2 tails to feed six. The Gravy is awesome. Wonderful for a grits and gravy combo. Yeah I know grits are for breakfast, but I'm just saying. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Omg never made oxtails my daughter who I let taste before revealing what it was loved it yum a rel keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delicious! Just like my mom used to make it when I was a child. I used Worchester sauce instead a brown sauce and I didn't have Greek seasoning, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I'll let the broth cool and scrape the fat off the top so that my gravy isn't so greasy. But it was still delicious. I plated it on a bed a garlic mashed potatoes. I can't wait until I'm hungry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I trimmed some of the fat off the meat before cooking. I made this in a big pot as called for and didn't realize before hand that the long cooking time would lead to evaporation. I just kept adding a mixture of water and chicken broth (I would have used beef broth but didn't have any on hand) so that the oxtails were always covered by liquid. I did not find this recipe too salty at all and the meat of the oxtails fell off the bone! The gravy was also amazing. I made Jamaican rice and peas (from a family recipe) to go with the oxtails and gravy. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkihvw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been using this recipe from here for years. It's our all time favorite for oxtails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I hate to admit I do not know what Greek seasoning is, I followed the directions otherwise. I did add a whole hot pepper to it to give it a bit of pep. Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This recipe was delicious!! I had never made let alone eaten oxtails in my life, my fiance asked if I could make them, and I was like "sure, no problem" lol....not only did this recipe save my hide, I fell in love with how wonderful they were!1 Will be making again and again...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Gr8 recipe all my family said was yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami Gardens, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this just the way that it was written! When I tell you AWESOME! I MEAN AWESOME! My children ate it, everyone ate it and it was phenomenal! It's a must eat...and must try! The gravy was so good, I kept some and froze it for when I make homemade mashed potatoes in the future. I used yellow rice for this recipe, since we love yellow rice so much and it was a perfect twist for this recipe~ If you have never eaten OXTAILS, try this recipe! You are sure to fall in love~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was fabulous!! Great flavor and extremely tender. Only one suggestion - skim off fat before making gravy - as meal is a bit fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States