Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been using this recipe from here for years. It's our all time favorite for oxtails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I hate to admit I do not know what Greek seasoning is, I followed the directions otherwise. I did add a whole hot pepper to it to give it a bit of pep. Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This recipe was delicious!! I had never made let alone eaten oxtails in my life, my fiance asked if I could make them, and I was like "sure, no problem" lol....not only did this recipe save my hide, I fell in love with how wonderful they were!1 Will be making again and again...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Gr8 recipe all my family said was yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami Gardens, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this just the way that it was written! When I tell you AWESOME! I MEAN AWESOME! My children ate it, everyone ate it and it was phenomenal! It's a must eat...and must try! The gravy was so good, I kept some and froze it for when I make homemade mashed potatoes in the future. I used yellow rice for this recipe, since we love yellow rice so much and it was a perfect twist for this recipe~ If you have never eaten OXTAILS, try this recipe! You are sure to fall in love~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was fabulous!! Great flavor and extremely tender. Only one suggestion - skim off fat before making gravy - as meal is a bit fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a terrific recipe...Thank you very much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yummy! I made this last night and it was amazing. I cooked the oxtails the night before and the only thing I did different was use onion powder and garlic powder instead of onioin and garlic. I cooked for 3 hours and the water reduced down a lot. I put the broth in the fridge so I could take the fat off the next day. The next day I warmed the oxtails in the oven on 275 for 30 min. I took the fat off the broth and warmed it in the microwave and I only had about 1/2 c of broth so I tasted it and it was really salty so I just added water to it to make a cup and used low sodium chicken broth for the other cup. Made gravy as recipe says and used worchester for browning sauce. When it was done I put the oxtails in the gravy and cooked on low for about 30 min. I give it only 4 stars bc the broth doesnt make 2 cups but thats ok bc it probably would have been too salty. Make sure you add broth slowly when you stir it in (about 1/4-1/2 c at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent Will make it again for some comfort eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I also changed the recipe a little, but the overall recipe gave good guidelines to follow.. And maybe we eat too much, but I scaled the servings to 18, and only fed 6 of us.. So I actually cooked about 7lbs.. that's 1lb of oxtail per person.. that is.. uncooked weight that is. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States