Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have never had Oxtail before, we buy our meat from a local farmer so it is easy to get. I followed the recipe as it said and this was so delicious, I served it with brown rice and doubled the gravy. It is very easy to make and I will make it again and again. This recipe is a keeper, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From Granno's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mira Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Just made the gravy, and that too vegetarianized it, still gave me a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I'm not sure how this got rated so high but I thought it was very bland. There are others on the site that are better. I won't use this one again. It wasn't bad, just not great. I'm keeping the best in each category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe was awesome I made it for a friend and he fell in LOVE with it! The only reason i am giving this recipe 4 stars is because I was kind of salty, but the italian seasong made it taste AWESOME...The only thing I added was Lousiana hot sauce while the oxtails cooked...and I cooked for 3 hrs...much tender...THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent and very easy! I love this recipe. I saved three years ago and finally got around to preparing it. My family loved it. The gravy recipe is terrific and I think it would be great on lamb chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
was not in a hurry so i slow cook the first part on low for 4.5-5.0 hours, then placed in gravy. this recipe turn out so good i will definitely be added this to my special book.lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Love this recipe!!! I looked all over for a simple recipe of this dish, and I kept finding it with beans and carrots and tomatoes, etc., which is not the oxtails with gravy that I grew up on. This recipe was exactly what I wanted! It is so easy, and it came out wonderfully! I serve it with buttery white rice and fresh collard greens. My husband loves it so much that he's taken to making sure we always have oxtails in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This receipe is fantastic. I didn't refrigerate overnight so of course i had more fat/grease but next time I will. The gravy is delicious. I also used Lawry's Garlic & Seasoning Salt along with some cajun seasoning from Tony Chachere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
U should tweak a little it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Haven't had Oxtails in ages. Saw some in the store and thought I try. Your receipe for Octails and gravy was fantastic will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States