Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love oxtails any way U fix Them,I'm always looking for more and different ways to make it. I CAN'T SAY OXTAIL SOUP AROUND MY HOUSE, THEY WILL ALL COME! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is soooo good!!!! This was my first time making oxtails, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. The gravy was a little salty, so next time, I won't add any salt. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and I just LOVE it!!! I used to only make oxtails in 15 bean soup, and I wanted to find a different way to prepare them. I think this recipe is perfect. The oxtails come out nice and tender and very well seasoned. This rocks on flavor! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinotl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good and filling! Used suggestion (ala Julia Childs) to brown tails first for 40 min at 400 with onion, celery, and carrots deglazing pan with red wine. Cooked in slow cooker for 5 1/2 hours with ingredients (minus season salt). Added sauteed onions and carrots (don't saute in bacon grease next time--flavour too overpowering). Served over rice. Will try with potatoes next time. If planning on doubling gravy, double oxtails for more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Loved it! I used a jamacian jerk spice mix instead of the greek 1, and i browned the meat first befor cooking it up in my slow cooker. served it with okra, black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CCSugar
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Sooo good. I tweaked it a bit to match my tastes, but these were phenomenal. Almost as good as my mother-in-laws. Very tender and richly flavorful. Bless you for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe was on the money! My first time cooking oxtail s and they turned out perfect! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
let me say this recipe is delicious. The grease is a lot but I remove the oxtails from the broth and put broth in refrigerator. grease hardens into a thick layer on top and then just lift off. I then use the broth to cook rice in and add oxtails back into rice. People who don't know what these are, all can't get enough and are shocked to find out it is oxtails and that they love them. OH, also I do NOT make the gravy of this recipe as I use the broth strictly for the rice flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe and while it tasted quite good and the gravy was very good, I will not be making this again (and it was a unanimous decision). This was way to greasy. As I'm typing this, it feels like my arteries are clogging. I am ok with some greasy meals. But even boiling for 3 hours, there is still too much fat. And the broth you use for the gravy has the fat you just boiled off (and I skimmed off 1/2 cup of grease before making the gravy. How this meat is so expensive, is beyond me. If I was starving and had nothing else to eat, would be the only way I'd make this again. This is similar to pot roast, which is what I'll make next time. So if you know what oxtail tastes like and are ok with the grease, you'll like this. If you've been thinking of buying oxtail and trying it for the first time, just get a pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States