Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
AWESOME! I also added a scotch bonnet pepper for some West Indian kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I really didn't use the top portion of the recipe, but I can't knock it. I used the Gravy portion and received rave reviews from family and friends on New Year's Day as to how well the Oxtails came out. I loved the gravy and saved it when all the oxtails where gone and just had a great bowl of rice and gravy. This was a very pretty color gravy and thicken quite well. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe that my husband and I enjoyed very much. I don't like using the grease or shortening in the gravy though, and I don't think it needs it. Next time I will just use the broth with the flour only to make a gravy, like in the smoothered porkchops recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love oxtails but never had them with gravy until now. I love this recipe and so does my friends. I will make this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyonecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
What an excellent recipe!!! First off let me say that this does not quite feed 6 people(more like 2.5). I bought a little over 3lbs (exactly 6 oxtails) and it fed 2 people with very little leftovers. I did trim my oxtails a little so that I would not end up with a pot of grease. Also I slightly altered the recipe (I always end up doing that) by adding 2 cans of beef broth, doubled both the Greek seasoning and season all, used a little worcestershire sauce in place of browning sauce, and doubled the garlic. Oh and I cooked for 3 hours(TENNNDER). The gravy is sooo good. I served this with Jamaican style rice and peas and fried plantains (from this site). I will post a pic soon of this wonderful dish. It certainly is a soul food blast from the past. Thanks so much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I am txnurse5 and I must admit that it does not feed 6. My recipe is written as an "observer". This recipe is strictly an observer recipe. I watched my mother, grandmother and aunt make this meal. It's all a matter of seasoning and tasting. That's how it's done in the south. Don't be afraid to experiment with different spices and techniques. I have grown up with this rule, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. My husband really loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Nice recipe! A few tips...BEFORE adding garlic, onions and dry seasonings in step 1, bring the oxtails to a boil and skim off the gray scum that comes to the top, then add seasonings. This makes for a clearer, purer tasting broth. Also, if time permits, refrigerate broth overnight when the oxtails are cooked. The next day the layer of fat will have hardened and can be removed completely...so much healthier and and the flavors marry overnight for better taste. I also omitted the additional teaspoon of seasoning salt since my broth was just fine with the 1 tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was very good.I did not use all the seasoning.But this was a hit with the family.Now I have more than one way to do my tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was my first time cooking oxtails. I eat them, but never cook them. I didn't use Greek seasoning, just substituted and this recipe was good! Thankss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States