Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
What an excellent recipe!!! First off let me say that this does not quite feed 6 people(more like 2.5). I bought a little over 3lbs (exactly 6 oxtails) and it fed 2 people with very little leftovers. I did trim my oxtails a little so that I would not end up with a pot of grease. Also I slightly altered the recipe (I always end up doing that) by adding 2 cans of beef broth, doubled both the Greek seasoning and season all, used a little worcestershire sauce in place of browning sauce, and doubled the garlic. Oh and I cooked for 3 hours(TENNNDER). The gravy is sooo good. I served this with Jamaican style rice and peas and fried plantains (from this site). I will post a pic soon of this wonderful dish. It certainly is a soul food blast from the past. Thanks so much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Nice recipe! A few tips...BEFORE adding garlic, onions and dry seasonings in step 1, bring the oxtails to a boil and skim off the gray scum that comes to the top, then add seasonings. This makes for a clearer, purer tasting broth. Also, if time permits, refrigerate broth overnight when the oxtails are cooked. The next day the layer of fat will have hardened and can be removed completely...so much healthier and and the flavors marry overnight for better taste. I also omitted the additional teaspoon of seasoning salt since my broth was just fine with the 1 tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I was really nervouse when making this dish but it turned out perfectly. I didn't use the "greek seasonings" just Lawry's seasoned salt and pepper and it was fine. And oxtails are relatively fatty, so if you've never had them like one of the commenters below then don't be surprised. You can trim it down though. But that's where most of the flavor is in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I am txnurse5 and I must admit that it does not feed 6. My recipe is written as an "observer". This recipe is strictly an observer recipe. I watched my mother, grandmother and aunt make this meal. It's all a matter of seasoning and tasting. That's how it's done in the south. Don't be afraid to experiment with different spices and techniques. I have grown up with this rule, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Usually cook oxtails in a crock pot so next time I'll follow the recipe and slow cook on low for 6 hrs. Great mix of flavors and the gravy was awesome. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This receipe was wonderful. I love oxtails that I had to buy at a local restaurant and so I tried it for the first time here at home and followed the instructions to the letter. I will be enjoying Oxtails with Gravy at home from now on! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Lithia Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This happens to be a very good recipe for good ol' oxtails. Oxtails are fatty (for those who don't know) and are traditionally cooked this way. It is best to boil them first, to get rid of some of the fat. They will still have fat on them. Add tomatoes if you like or whatever! Normally, it ends up "stew-like" because of the cooking time and gravy. The meat should fall off the bone when eaten. I would love to hear other variations as far as gravy or sauce. I myself can't help but eat oxtails swimming in gravy! If you are overly concerned about the fat...don't make it. Thanks! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this just the way that it was written! When I tell you AWESOME! I MEAN AWESOME! My children ate it, everyone ate it and it was phenomenal! It's a must eat...and must try! The gravy was so good, I kept some and froze it for when I make homemade mashed potatoes in the future. I used yellow rice for this recipe, since we love yellow rice so much and it was a perfect twist for this recipe~ If you have never eaten OXTAILS, try this recipe! You are sure to fall in love~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Wonderful recipe! Make sure you double the gravy, there was a "fight" over the last ladle full left in the bowl (I won)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I had never tasted oxtails before and wanted to try something different. Maybe I should've trimmed the fat first because they were very fatty. The taste was okay, but tasted too "stewy". I browned the meat first and sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the water. Glad I can say I've had them, but probably won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States