Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Really, really good. I had never tasted oxtails before, and found this recipe easy to follow. The results were awesome in my book. Will definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Fabulous ! I have milked cows and the thought of eating a piece of cow tail was never on my list of things to do. But, I ran across a pound of tails marked down from $3.99 to $1.99 a pound so what he heck. I read some other reviews, some sounded right. Boil tails and skim the scum before adding the veggies and spice, let tails and broth settle overnight then pick off about 75% of the white fat cap. Also, two pounds of tails and this recipe would be a streth for 3 servings. The gravy makes this dish, I think it is more brown sauce than gravy. I WILL be back. Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
loved it, i switched out a few seasoning because i dont use the same things that she does but overall thank you it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I only season with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. I put the onions in a crockpot and let them cook on low overnight. They come out so tender. I remove tails from the crockpot and place all the juice (and fat) in a container and put in the 'fridge. Then I skim off the fat and make gravy with the essence. Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was an easy to make recipe and I enjoyed doing this. I had tried other oxtail recipe and I think this one is the best. the only problem I had with this one is that it is a bit salty. Nothing I can not fix by toning down the amount of salt. That is the reason why i rated it a 4 star. This one is a keeper. It has potential. Also The meat was so soft and it does not require a slow cooker which is a plus. Good job on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Have made this dish once before as writen and fell in love with it. I do add bay leaf when boiling along with garlic and onion. Since then I have experimented with some ingredients like once the tails are cooked down. I put in a pay some brown sugar just two table spoons with little oil let it cook down till it forms bubbles then add in oxtails until they are coated then add in celery, scallions, and cilantro that I placed in a blender to get to a smooth paste and added that to the tails, and broth and then back to the cooking. Just different take on it. You cant go wrong unless you forget to double the gravy. Lord nothing better than the gravy and rice a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Great recipe and easy to make!!! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
My hubby and friends, liked it. I doubled the spices. I boiled oxtails for 3 hours. Reserved 4 cups of broth for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I added onions, celery, carrots, and a Guiness...incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This happens to be a very good recipe for good ol' oxtails. Oxtails are fatty (for those who don't know) and are traditionally cooked this way. It is best to boil them first, to get rid of some of the fat. They will still have fat on them. Add tomatoes if you like or whatever! Normally, it ends up "stew-like" because of the cooking time and gravy. The meat should fall off the bone when eaten. I would love to hear other variations as far as gravy or sauce. I myself can't help but eat oxtails swimming in gravy! If you are overly concerned about the fat...don't make it. Thanks! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305

Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States