Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I trimmed some of the fat off the meat before cooking. I made this in a big pot as called for and didn't realize before hand that the long cooking time would lead to evaporation. I just kept adding a mixture of water and chicken broth (I would have used beef broth but didn't have any on hand) so that the oxtails were always covered by liquid. I did not find this recipe too salty at all and the meat of the oxtails fell off the bone! The gravy was also amazing. I made Jamaican rice and peas (from a family recipe) to go with the oxtails and gravy. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkihvw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been using this recipe from here for years. It's our all time favorite for oxtails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I hate to admit I do not know what Greek seasoning is, I followed the directions otherwise. I did add a whole hot pepper to it to give it a bit of pep. Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This recipe was delicious!! I had never made let alone eaten oxtails in my life, my fiance asked if I could make them, and I was like "sure, no problem" lol....not only did this recipe save my hide, I fell in love with how wonderful they were!1 Will be making again and again...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Gr8 recipe all my family said was yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami Gardens, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this just the way that it was written! When I tell you AWESOME! I MEAN AWESOME! My children ate it, everyone ate it and it was phenomenal! It's a must eat...and must try! The gravy was so good, I kept some and froze it for when I make homemade mashed potatoes in the future. I used yellow rice for this recipe, since we love yellow rice so much and it was a perfect twist for this recipe~ If you have never eaten OXTAILS, try this recipe! You are sure to fall in love~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was fabulous!! Great flavor and extremely tender. Only one suggestion - skim off fat before making gravy - as meal is a bit fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a terrific recipe...Thank you very much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yummy! I made this last night and it was amazing. I cooked the oxtails the night before and the only thing I did different was use onion powder and garlic powder instead of onioin and garlic. I cooked for 3 hours and the water reduced down a lot. I put the broth in the fridge so I could take the fat off the next day. The next day I warmed the oxtails in the oven on 275 for 30 min. I took the fat off the broth and warmed it in the microwave and I only had about 1/2 c of broth so I tasted it and it was really salty so I just added water to it to make a cup and used low sodium chicken broth for the other cup. Made gravy as recipe says and used worchester for browning sauce. When it was done I put the oxtails in the gravy and cooked on low for about 30 min. I give it only 4 stars bc the broth doesnt make 2 cups but thats ok bc it probably would have been too salty. Make sure you add broth slowly when you stir it in (about 1/4-1/2 c at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent Will make it again for some comfort eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States