Oxtails with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Omg never made oxtails my daughter who I let taste before revealing what it was loved it yum a rel keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delicious! Just like my mom used to make it when I was a child. I used Worchester sauce instead a brown sauce and I didn't have Greek seasoning, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I'll let the broth cool and scrape the fat off the top so that my gravy isn't so greasy. But it was still delicious. I plated it on a bed a garlic mashed potatoes. I can't wait until I'm hungry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I trimmed some of the fat off the meat before cooking. I made this in a big pot as called for and didn't realize before hand that the long cooking time would lead to evaporation. I just kept adding a mixture of water and chicken broth (I would have used beef broth but didn't have any on hand) so that the oxtails were always covered by liquid. I did not find this recipe too salty at all and the meat of the oxtails fell off the bone! The gravy was also amazing. I made Jamaican rice and peas (from a family recipe) to go with the oxtails and gravy. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkihvw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been using this recipe from here for years. It's our all time favorite for oxtails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I hate to admit I do not know what Greek seasoning is, I followed the directions otherwise. I did add a whole hot pepper to it to give it a bit of pep. Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This recipe was delicious!! I had never made let alone eaten oxtails in my life, my fiance asked if I could make them, and I was like "sure, no problem" lol....not only did this recipe save my hide, I fell in love with how wonderful they were!1 Will be making again and again...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Gr8 recipe all my family said was yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami Gardens, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this just the way that it was written! When I tell you AWESOME! I MEAN AWESOME! My children ate it, everyone ate it and it was phenomenal! It's a must eat...and must try! The gravy was so good, I kept some and froze it for when I make homemade mashed potatoes in the future. I used yellow rice for this recipe, since we love yellow rice so much and it was a perfect twist for this recipe~ If you have never eaten OXTAILS, try this recipe! You are sure to fall in love~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was fabulous!! Great flavor and extremely tender. Only one suggestion - skim off fat before making gravy - as meal is a bit fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a terrific recipe...Thank you very much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States