Owen's Veggie Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I have been trying to sneak some vegetables into our diet and this one did very nicely. The whole family cleaned their plates, and my husband said, "Next time, you should..." I love it when there is mention of a next time! Like everyone, I made some changes, but I think that is the brilliance of the recipe - it goes with everything you like. I substituted in cubed pineapple for the bean sprouts, doubled the soy sauce, the garlic, the zucchini, the carrots and the peppers (using mini red, yellow and orange peppers) and added broccoli. And next time, we will use more pineapple, but that is because we love pineapple. I think you should go with the things you love and enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is a very tasty stir fry. The only thing that was "wrong" was the sauce. Because it seemed to be too oily. But I'm in school for culinary and my instructor had told me that it's not too oily, it just needs to be emulsified so it will bind to together. So for anyone else that makes this, you have to add the olive oil to the soy sauce slowly while whisking it together vigorously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I made this for my family of 3 meat-loving boys & 1 carnivorous hubby. I pretty much stuck to the recipe and served it over hot brown rice. My hubby got home late and there was no rice left and about 1/3 of a serving of the veggies left. Needless to say, it was a hit! This is going in the rotation! We are gluten free and this was very easy to adapt it as such, just used GF soy sauce! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Even with added flavor boosters this wasn't amazing. I'll look for another stir fry sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love this. The sauce is perfect. Very light, not too syrupy. I added crushed red pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My favorite , the bean sprouts don't add anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was very easy and delicious. Could use a bit more seasoning, but otherwise very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great recipe template for a stir fry. You can use any veggies. I added broccoli and snow peas. I didn't use bean sprouts or corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is the second time I have tried this recipe. I did enjoy the meal although I did feel it was still oily and I had only used olive oil to saute the vegetables. I used most of the veggies in the recipe, although I did not use the corn and used sugar snap peas instead. I did use teriyaki sauce ( 2.5 tbsp),fresh ginger, and garlic ( 1 tsp). I will double the spices next time, as I did not taste them very much. I served this with white rice and my husband and son added soy sauce at the table. I will try this recipe again, but I will decrease the oil even more. It is a nice meatless meal although my son would prefer meat with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Added chicken... Was a hit in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States