Owen's Peachy Pig Out Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I give this a 4 star only because i modfied the cooking method only. Microwave cooking is not our thing so i browned the pork tenderloin on the stove then removed the pork and sauteed the sliced onions.While that was sauteing,I made the sauce in the sauce pan.Then returned the meat in the casserole dish where the onions had finished caramelizing. I poured the sauce (I had a cup of peach syrup to use up and we love our gravies so why not make more) on top of the meat and covered it and baked it for 40 minutes at 350F. Served it with stove top fried diced potatoes and the canned peaches uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Cooked on stove. Cook pork chops, when almost done add onions and peaches, cook until onions are tender. Add sauce (Mix approx. 1 tblsp. cornstarch into the sauce before adding to pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Nice combination of ingredients but I added more chili for more piquancy. Like Luds, I too find microwave cooking iffy. I love the micro for reheating but I like browned meat so I adapted the recipe for stove-top cooking. Fresh peaches, not canned, 'make' this chop dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
We weren't wild about this recipe either. Not sure what it was missing, but it was missing a zing. Maybe the canned peaches are a bit bland for a balanced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Very good mix of flavors, very tasty, I will certainly make this again. I added a peach half for each pork chop. I found the microwave quite suspect as cooking method so I browned the chops while I made the sauce in a saucepan, combined everything and put in the oven for 20 minutes, and added the peaches for the last couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This was a great blend of flavors. I omitted the chili peppers, because my husband will not eat spicy food and just added it to my plate and my sons plate. Everyone loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Ceschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I didn't really like this recipe. It just wasn't the right combination of flavors. I also wanted the sauce to make some kind of syrupy gravy, but it never did, no matter how much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I made this recipe in a pan on the stove, instead of in the microwave, and it was great. Though I did find that I had to make like 3 or 4 times as much sauce for the amount of meat, but that might just be because I like lots of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States