Owen's Mozzarella and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This is so delicious it's hard to believe how simple it is. The only changes I make are to slice the tomatoes really thickly instead of finely, to use salt as well as pepper, and to drizzle a bit of really good balsamic vinegar on it. Amazingly good. With this recipe, it's the little things that make all the difference: fresh mozzarella or bocconcini, good quality olive oil (and balsamic if you're using it), nice ripe tomatoes, and fresh ground pepper (I like mine ground really chunky). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
The perfect summertime side dish! A great way to use those delicious New Jersey tomatoes, too. As a previous reviewer wrote, you MUST use fresh mozzarella cheese (not the "plastic ball" of cheese from the dairy case). And it is also important to use a good olive oil. Topped off with fresh basil from my herb garden and we are set for a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was really good. Especially with ripe tomatoes in the summer. I did add some dressing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I used cherry tomatoes cut in half. Overall it was a very fresh, clean taste. I would add a bit more salt next time, though. The fresh basil was so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was very good but I did need to add some dressing to it. That is more my preference though and does not reflect on this recipe. My hubby scarfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
A beautiful salad when you can get summer ripe tomatoes! Use fresh mozzarella for the best texture. Add a sprinkle of sea salt and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar over everything as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Great served at a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This hit the spot. You can make one tomato or several. I sliced moz. but I wonder if you could use shredded? Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I would put a little more salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was great. I suggest the use of fresh mozzerella, I doubt the shredded tastes as good. I also used more basil and garlic flavored olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States